NYE


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Blantyre
December 31st 2007
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

As I'm getting used to solids again and tucking into my breakfast toast, I am delighted to see a lovely couple I met on my first night at the hostel. They are from the UK but work here for an NGO making education more accessible in the Mulanje district.

The couple arrive wanting to see if they can book a room for the night to go out in Blantyre to celebrate new year's eve. They kindly ask if I want to join them, and as I have no plans, I quickly accept!

Later that evening we meet up and head off to eat at one of the big hotels. They are well read and knowledgeable about Malawi so I enjoy finding out more, and their opinions on things. Impressively they can speak Chichewa too.

Over dinner we discuss how one of the biggest issues here is land - something that simply hadn't crossed my mind before. Every area of land is allocated to something now and this means no farm land has been left fallow. It's predicted that after 10 years there could be problems with growing crops as all the nutrients will have been extracted and there will be no 'new' land to move onto. It is a small country and overpopulated which adds to the pressure on land use.

Another conversation subject that saddens me is that Malawi only produces a small number of its own doctors each year and once graduated all but a few leave to work in other countries.

We move onto discuss church life, which we agree performs a very social function; meeting up in your Sunday best is a time to connect and be part of the community. The men of cloth have power here and the people are desperate to overcome their difficulties and find better lives. Since I've been here I've heard a few sad stories of churches stealing money from the congregation. I've also driven past a church called 'The Winners Chapel.'

We head to the Blue Elephant nightclub with its outdoor dance floor. Dancing under the stars we welcome in the new year African style!









Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb