Home time ......


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am on my last day now, very sad, and in typical Super G fashion I have chosen a massive religious holiday as my last day, meaning pretty much everywhere is closed! Great! My flight isn't til tonight and I have had to check out of my hotel, so I am wandering the streets aimlessly until I head to the airport in 5.5 hours, not that I'm counting!
Yesterday was the first day I have had to myself since arriving, and it was lovely. I took all the unwanted clothes Lys and I had thrown out to a childrens home on the outskirts of Tana and got a guided tour. Compared to other countries I've visited in the developing world, there is very little desperate poverty in Madagascar, but there are so many street children in Tana and it was wonderful to see something being done to help them. I got to visit the nursery where there was a tiny baby who is actually 15 months old, his mum was an alcoholic so had he not been taken to the home he probably would have been left to die. The staff are all Malagasy and work really hard to look after the kids who are educated and trained so they can get jobs when they are older, but the centre runs entirely on donations, so I will be hounding you all for sposorship for the Great North Run again, this time to raise money for these kids.
Have heard all sorts of horror stories about UK airports, hopefully coming in isn't as hectic as going out, but this time tommorow I should be touching down in the UK. Eeek!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb