Free Agent (allegedly)


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar
July 31st 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

As of yesterday I am no longer a working woman here in Madagascar, although I have been in the office all day! My travelling companion may not be back in town for a few days so I am trying to entertain myself until then!
The last month has flown by, the expedition went well, found some (biologically) very interesting stuff and saw some beautiful places. The group were really nice, it was all about the challenge, starting with the chin up challenge, escalating to the Super G bench press challenge and the how far can you throw Super G challenge. Wild times!
We returned to town for a celebratory night out, with all the staff celebrating a particularly tough month by snorting creme brulee and mixing our drinks. We then spent the next day lying on the floor in the office trying to recover. It reiterated the lesson I have learnt time and again about tequila.
I spent the last few days on my old camp, it was strange to be there with people who I haven't shared the last 7 months with, and leaving was awful. I am already planning a trip back next year, a good thing in many ways as I am not getting to do much of the grand tour I originally had planned as I have to head home earlier than expected. I have been offered a job in Somerset as an ecological consultant and to turn it down would have been daft, so am having to do the sensible grown up thing and head home to the working world! Hope to fit a bit of sightseeing in over the next couple of weeks though.
Hope to meet up with lots of you when I get back, am going straight into the new job so time will be tight, but I will make every effort to catch up with you all!
As Granny Cis always says, it's nice to go away, but it's equally nice to come home. It's also terribly sad to leave Madagascar though!
See you all soon! x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb