Nairobi, Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
August 27th 2014
Published: August 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Up early for our flight this morning- got to Nairobi around 2 and met up with our Safari guide, Joseph. We are amazed to find out that we are the only two on this10 days safari we are about to embark on. We have a Range Rover and guide all to ourselves.

Got a peak at Mount Kilamanjaro from the air. We will be closer in a week or so.

Nairobi- my heart has already broken many times over at the intense poverty. Lynne, you will definitely know what I am feeling! I couldn't believe my eyes. Cows and people digging through the same garbage dump, houses made of tin and cardboard, streets lined with so many people all you see is masses of moving bodies. Open areas littered with clothing and goods that our guide explained is an exchange place where ppl trade what they have for what they need.

And then the hotel we are at- not a North American 5 star, but enough to make me take a close look at myself and thank The Lord above for where I live and the blessings He has poured out on me and my family.

There is a big conference at this hotel tomorrow and security is tight. There were armed (with really big guns) military personnel at the gate who checked the undercarriage of our vehicle with mirrors for bombs and grenades. Our guide told us that the vehicles on the property were those used by government officials. One of the bell men confirmed the Kenyan President will be on site tomorrow afternoon.

We ate at the hotel BarBQ - similar to the Brazilian BBQ s we have at home- all you can eat meat and meat and meat. So for those of you who know me know that culinary and adventure are not typically words I would use in the same sentence. I dined on crocodile, camel, goat, beef and chicken. Yes, I did actually eat what was on my plate. I guess the food box needs to get floppy sides eventually.

Well, we have a 0700 pickup tomorrow and between that, still being a little under the weather and a time change, time to say Ahsante sana ( thank you very much) for reading my blogs and bid you a Swahili Ulale Salama ( good night).

Ps... We love receiving comments- they keep us upto date on how things are at home- Arnet is also using Facebook

Mouahhhh

MnA

Advertisement



1st September 2014

Hello from Maine
Glad to read your blogs and know that your trip south was good. Bill and I look forward to your entries. Hope that cold had cleared up, it got both of us too. Enjoy your adventure!

Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb