My Africa Diary Part 3


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Nakuru
March 9th 2019
Published: March 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

After covering Masaimara in the last two video blogs, this is my third episode of the slideshow. This time my destination was Lake Nakuru and Lake Bogoria. Unlike Masaimara where we stayed in tents for two nights, we made day trips in both Lake Nakuru and Lake Bogoria. I made my base in Nakuru, so it was easy to cover them both in two separate day trips. But don’t underestimate the wild life of Lake Nakuru although the area is smaller as compared to Masaimara. True, it’s not a vast landscape like Mara, but there is no shortage of wild life in Lake Nakuru, - zebra, giraffe, impala, rhino, baboon, you name it. If you just want to experience wild life and a day of enjoying safari, a quick and easy way is to head out to Lake Nakuru.

Here it happened. I was beaten by a Rock Hyrax. It was partly my fault…the badger was getting too close to me during my sandwich hour. Such a cute little animal and I thought why can’t I cuddle it a bit. Wrong move and I took my African lesson with some blood on my arm! But that is not the end of the story. Now here it goes! I wiped my blood with a tissue and bottle water, (I didn’t have any alcohol swab with me that I could use as antiseptic) and then I went on carrying on my business of African safari for the next week or so. Once I was back to Canada, my friend asked me if I received the Rabies vaccine shot. “Nope”, I told him. “You must immediately go see a doctor”, he was worried. So I went to a walk-in-clinic and told my story to the doctor.

“What is a Rock Hyrax,” the doctor asked me.

“Well, it’s a badger family; do I need to take a shot?” I asked him

“How long ago it happened,”?

“Well, I think it was three weeks ago.”

“Usually you get rabies from a dog bite, but badger? Ummm…Not sure, you better go to the hospital to check it out. We don’t keep rabies vaccine here.”

So I did…I went to the emergency of a downtown hospital and was admitted for checkup. The doctor came and asked me the same question, “What is a Rock Hyrax?” I was prepared this time. I took out my phone and showed him the picture of the culprit that has bitten me. “Hmmm,” she said,” You know, over 90 percent rabies cases are due to dog bite, but badger? You better wait, let me find out.” Then she called the Chief Medical Officer of Calgary (didn’t know such a post do exists) and the Officer also didn’t know the answer. But the Officer called an expert meeting somewhere in the city while I was lying on the hospital bed having nightmares of Rabies. After one hour the verdict came, “you are safe”, the doctor came and told me. “Rock Hyrax can get rabies from hyenas, but after they get bitten they don’t live long and hyenas eat them anyway, so the culprit badger wouldn’t have been alive to bite you.” So, I am safe, I am safe! This is the second lesson I got…take all measures before romancing the wilderness. No matter what happened, I surely love this wild and beautiful continent! The video blog is to capture those amazing moments and wake up your desire to trample the same path that I continue to roam around in my dreamland Africa. Hope you would enjoy!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



10th March 2019

My Africa Diary Part 3
A great way to preserve your memories, Tab. I guess you learnt the hard way that wild animals deserve the prefix "wild"...they can bite! Interesting selection of music including Grieg for the march of the flamingoes!
11th March 2019

My Africa Diary Part 3
Dave, thanks a lot for commenting. Yes, this has been my experimentation to play with the concept of video blog. But viewers are the ultimate judge. And yes, the prefix 'wild' makes sense, but this fool tends to forget the term over and over again, the old dog never learns. Hope I learn it this time!
11th March 2019

Survived
So glad you survived the Rock Hyrax Tad- the little ones are always the deadliest but I think lesson learnt ... ... ...
11th March 2019

Survived
Yes, I was probably fortunate. It's a good lessons learned. At least I will carry some alcoholic swabs for cleaning any bite or cut in the future. Thanks for your comment Paul and Sheila...I will publish a few more to cover my journey!
12th March 2019

good one
This is a good contribution by the writer.
12th March 2019

good One
Hi Andrea, thank you for your comment. Trying to present something outside the box...your liking means a lot.
12th March 2019

I like the stuff which had shared here. I will try to read about this more after my 2-day new york city tour from washington dc.
12th March 2019

Thank you!
Thank you for your comment. Will appreciate if you give it a view once your tour ends. Safe travel!
16th March 2019

Africa Diary
I am enjoying your really nice videos but I also miss your traditional blog as you were very good at writing. I'm having mixed feelings. Love the flamingos. You are strong, you are a survivor and will get back to Africa to finish this trip.
16th March 2019

Africa Diary
Thank you so much for reading and your accolades MJ. I knew I could count on you. I will get back to writing once I have more things to add, soon when my leg gets better and I start traveling. Earlier, I completed my traditional blogs on Africa hete. The video is just an experimentation to capture imagination of readers/viewers from a different angle. I was getting some ideas from Africa wild life documentaries in Netflix (BBC programs) and thought about trying them out. But rest assure MJ, I will get back to my roots - writing traditional blogs. In the meantime, please enjoy the next episodes of my video blogs.
25th March 2019

good one
love to read like this more.
25th March 2019

good one
Hi Andrea, Thank you for your comment. Yes, the stake out was fun alright with some adrenaline rush, but I have to be more careful in the future. Predators don't understand photo-ops!!!

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 40; qc: 152; dbt: 0.1802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb