Rally Kenya - on bikes!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
October 15th 2006
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

This is where I live


Um....what?!Um....what?!Um....what?!

This is the sign as you drive out of Kisumu airport. In the next year I hope to learn the meaning and history of this slogan...because it is seriously rediculous.
At lunch on the second day of my trip we went out to lunch with someone from the provincial education office. When the waitress asked what type of soda he wanted, his reply was, "I will have any type of soda which can be safely consumed by a human." She asked if a Sprite would be OK.

On the first weekend here, I went with my two co-workers Trish and Rick to Kakamega forest, which is an UNESCO World Heritage site. I'm not sure what the criteria for these so-called world-heritage sites, but I'm thinking a dartboard in some bar in Geneva. For those of you who have been to a few, you know what I'm talking about. Anyway, this one was actually quite beautiful and deserving of whatever designation bestowed, even though what seemed like the entire contents of the forest was being carried out as we drove in. We brought our bikes decided to try our hand at biking down some pretty gnarly stuff. I've never really done any mountain biking before, but I was the only one who didn't hit a tree.

Also, it appears as though every Kenyan riding a bike wants to race me.
The land of development workersThe land of development workersThe land of development workers

To say that Kisumu is rife with NGO work is an understatement.
The disparity of equipment is astounding: I have a brand new 24 speed specialized RockHopper, disc brakes, shocks. They are riding 35$ Chinese steel frame single speeds....in flip flops. I got absolutely smoked. This weekend's race tally: 1 win, 2 loses.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The seat of governmentThe seat of government
The seat of government

Since I was first here in 2004, this building has stood vacant. It is the tallest building in town, on the highest hill. It is the Provincial offices...or would be if they hadn't run out of money and found out that due to structural issues it might collapse.


27th October 2006

the sign
Please find out what that sign means... it's killing me.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb