The students arrive


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
July 21st 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The start of a farm?The start of a farm?The start of a farm?

This is the litlle strip of land they hope to turn into a producer of food.
More people arriving, and some more last minute preparations going on to attempt to accommodate the increase in numbers. The Birmingham students were here for six weeks, but until the Family were due to leave in a couple days, they had to make do with using the floor of the small office and store floors over in the main building. One of the guys was grateful to have the loan of my sleeping mat till such time as that had occurred.

There were two girls and three guys. From the sounds of it the girls had signed up early, and it was a drive over the next few months before they were due to leave to round up some guys.

With the arrival of the students some of the other projects were able to be instigated. Like the clearing of a small plot of farmland near the lakes edge, ready for fencing and farming. I was explaining to one of the guys that I got tired of digging pretty easily as I was a runt. I was feeling pretty good later though when they thought out loud that for a runt I was a pretty good tree remover, absolutely
Thiis what it might look likeThiis what it might look likeThiis what it might look like

This is a picture of the neighbours farm, so hopefully the centres will be better in time.
devastating the trees way faster than anyone else. I then explained my runt comment.
If we were cows I would have been killed off a long time ago as no matter how much I get fed I don't get any bigger. Also as long as I have some energy food source I can work, but it gets used up fairly quickly then I can't do anything. So between short bursts of impressive work, I was sleeping around to 'conserve energy'.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb