Tree planting


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
July 15th 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its a holeIts a holeIts a hole

With lots of rocks, my hands hurt, a lot by the end of these days.
I had arrived in the dry season. Like Uganda there are not seasons perse, more just a dry and wet season. The ground at the centre was terrible. They had what looked like a failed maize crop behind the chicken coup where the chickens used to live when they had some alive, they had run out of food and the chickens died...
Anyway, I planted these four trees for them. I said the ground was too hard so I tried digging a base hole then filling it with donkey poes and some chicken poe and sawdust mix. I tried to tell them that if we at least made it easier for the roots of the small trees to get started by the time the wet season came around we could hope the ground softens sufficiently for the young trees to send their roots down deeper still. They were still looking healthy when I left, so I hope that little project went well.
I think I have picked up some going around germs. I remember walking past a snotty nosed little kid, can't help but think he must have jsut sneezed I then I happened to walk through his vapour trail.
Once they were planted, we put like a little koraal around them, to detour animal pests from taking too much interest.

Advertisement



6th August 2009

Hey Woz, just following your bloggings. Very interesting they are. Hope its still going well. How long did you stay at the centre?

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb