The Journey-Ch.3


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
October 4th 2006
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend was a weekend like no other. It was a hot and sticky weekend filled with laughter and learning, a weekend of discovery.

Five friends and I set out on a journey to Kisumu, Kenya on the Western side of the country. It holds the second largest freshwater lake in the world. We didn’t go to see the lake, but to see my friends’ families and to be available to minister in whatever ways arose. I was filled with anticipation as I had desired to see more of this country.

As we began our journey bumping down dusty, rocky roads, laden with potholes, semi-trucks, donkey carts, people, bicycles, matatus (public transportation in the form of a van) and buses, I knew it was going to be an adventure. We passed shantytowns, vendors selling their produce of roasted maize or live chickens and many, many people. Then, as we crested a large hill my friends told me to get my camera ready. That is when we entered into endless acres of tea plantations cut through only by a road. It was dense green as far as the eye could see. It was like God dropped all of the different shades of green crayons out of the crayon box onto the fields. The bright shades contrasted and mixed and formed something beautiful. There were occasionally brightly colored spots through the fields, which were the workers. The tea tastes as delicious as the fields are beautiful. Kenya truly has her beauty. I only wish her people could be as rich as her fields.

Houses aren’t built on a single plot of land in the Luo tribe (which is the predominating tribe of that area). It is common for a family to own a large plot of land. The family house sits in the middle of the compound then when the sons turn into men, they build their own house around the family home. Many of the homes are built of a mix of mud and cow dung which makes a fairly strong wall, then attached is either a thatched grass roof or sheet metal. The houses are simple and livable. Indoor plumbing and running water are elements for city dwellers. The country folk use a well and a choo (pronounced choe) which is an outhouse with a cement floor that has a hole. Life is about practicality and luxury is only a dream that few can dare to dream.

House #1 welcomed us kindly. Before introductions were even made, when we entered the house the host offered a prayer of thanks for our safe arrival. (It truly is a blessing to arrive anywhere safely and after seeing these roads and some of the drivers on them, you would understand). We toured the compound, saw the livestock and I was introduced to a local snack… a flying insect that eats ants. It has white wings and its body is about half the size of your little fingernail. They pick them up, pluck the wings, crunch and swallow. Now I am willing to try a lot of things but I couldn’t force this much adventure on myself in one weekend. Since we were special guests they fed us baked chicken (head included in the bowl), rice and ugali (traditional food of thick cornmeal. You break off a piece, roll it in a ball, dip it in sauce and eat). Meat is reserved for special occasions such as visitors.

We visited and the American, white girl was watched. I often feel under scrutiny, as I know my actions are being observed simply because I am different.. I am always afraid I will make some cultural faux pas but I seemed to pass with flying colors, because they invited me back.

House #2 was just as warm a welcome…in the dark. It was evening when we drove back onto a big piece of land with our 4-wheel drive. The hot sun had set and we saw a house lit with candles. As I was getting out of the car I noticed children…a lot of children. There were about four women waiting inside for our posse. They were all smiles as we all squeezed into the main room that is used as a dining/living area. The house is small; 3 ½ rooms total. The dining room, a bedroom, a half bedroom and a storage room, where the chickens get into and try to eat their food that is being stored.

Once again, before introductions were made, a prayer was said by our host, thanking God for our safe arrival. Then, ten of those children that were outside shuffled inside to sing songs for us. Angles couldn’t have sung more beautifully. I came to find out that those children are orphans being raied my Mama Shem (you refer to a mother by the name of her eldest child…Shem being her oldest), who was our host. She is raising 14 orphans. Mama Shem’s life has been a hard road filled with as many obstacles as the road we drove on to get to her. She was married by the age of 15 and when she was 18, with three children, her husband decided to marry another wife. Polygamy is a way of life for many in their culture. It was hard for her but as a woman in those days you didn’t have much say. She told me she was a Christian and God was her strength through all the years. Wife number two came; both ended up bearing 7 children….those kids grew and bore children. Wife #2 died, the husband died and Mama Shem now is the mother to all 14 children. Over the last year she has buried some of her siblings, taken in their kids, lost 2 of her grown children, her 2 year old grandbaby girl, her son-in-law and her daughter-in-law. Every orphan came under her roof. My heart fell to the floor as she told me of so much loss and devastation due to disease. However, she always ended every story with “God is my Savior and my strength”. I was amazed. Talk about unwavering faith!

Here at IAA we have 18 children, a full staff, and sponsors from America to help us purchase the needed supplies. My eyes were opened even wider to the fact that we are so blessed as this woman has very little outside help. Her heart is so full of love and compassion for these children that she is willing to do what it takes to get them raised in a safe place. I was able to surprise them by purchasing a large amount of groceries for them through the funds of ITHM. My thanks to those who have given money is nothing compared to what those kids feel because their bellies will have food, at least for a few weeks. Mama Shem had nothing but gratitude in her eyes as she saw us delivering bags of groceries. Even though you live a long way away, you provided encouragement for Mama Shem and her kids because of your generosity. This is real and you are making a difference!

I got to sleep in her house, under the mosquito net then take a shower under the sun behind makeshift walls. It was all a little stretching and very interesting.

On the way to house #3 I needed the ladies room. Forget public restrooms, you are lucky to find a choo to use. We stopped at a local health clinic where Shem had a friend and they led me through a cement room where there were needles and bottles of medicine laying around and the Dr. was examining a baby. We excused ourselves as we had to step around the Dr. and the patient to go out back to the choo. One’s prayer life increases incredibly when one realizes that the amount of dirt and germs is predominately greater than the amount of available soap and water.

As we thanked them and were getting ready to leave Shem’s friend ran out and asked us to come back in and pray for his sister-in-law. As we were stepping into a room adjoining the room with the Dr. I prayed that I wouldn’t have to see someone dying…I felt a fear that it could be bad. We entered into a small room, about 6X10, with dingy cement walls and a dingy cement floor. There were two beds on the opposing walls. One was acting as a bench for the family of the sick lady and the other was the bed of the sick young lady. There she lay listless, without her shirt, on what looked like a very old bedsheet. She had some infection that had caused her neck to swell and her skin on her neck to begin to rot and dry. I have never seen anything like it in my life, nor do I ever hope to again. It looked as if infection was trying to crawl out of her body through her neck. Faux pas #1…I asked what diagnosis they gave at the hospital and Shem quietly but quickly told me this was the hospital. Again my heart fell to the floor as I imagined the misery some must feel. They said she was actually improving. We bowed our heads and prayed for God’s mercy and healing and the brother-in-law expressed gratitude that he didn’t feel alone in his care for her.

House #3. Eric is one of our friends that grew up with seven birth brothers and seven mothers. His father was a chief of the village and had seven wives. Eric’s mom was wife #2 and was chosen by the chief when she was at the tender age of 14! The chief continued to take wives, continued to build homes on his property and continued bearing children. The kids call all of the moms “Mom” and all the kids are considered their siblings. Eric lost count of how many siblings he has. He does know however how many he has lost to death.

As we pulled onto the compound there were broken houses, children, cattle and more children. His mother looked as if she may have posed for National Geographic at one time when they were doing an article on Kenya. She is a tall, lean lady, completely bald and was sitting with her stick by a small fire outside. She smiled with her broken, sparse teeth and was completely beautiful. She was excited to see her son and asked them in Luo if the white girl was going to be her son’s second wife. They laughed and told her yes (without my knowledge). She asked if I could work in the garden and I told them she would be very disappointed in my gardening skills and she would surely send me away after one day. As we sat in her tiny hut, talking and laughing, a small cow poked his head in to drink out of a water bowl on the dirt floor and it all seemed completely normal. Mama Eric has also lost her husband and some of her children to disease and is raising some of her grandchildren. I was invited back even after she found out I was not really going to be her daughter-in-law.

I felt very privileged as my Kenyan friends granted me a Kenyan name: Anyango. Some people are named after the time of day they were born. Anyango means you were born between 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Although I am not sure what time I was born I liked that name better than the other names they offered me….plus, I can pronounce it which always helps.

The village church awaited us Sunday morning so we traipsed through the muddy soil and entered in the tiny brick building that almost had a complete cement floor. There were little makeshift wooden benches and it started to fill up fast. The congregation filled the morning with testimonies of God’s goodness and they were all smiles when I introduced myself as Jennifer Anyango Phillips. By using a Kenyan name they realize that I do love their country and their people.

Beautiful songs resounded through the air accompanied only by a drum and small cymbal. It was then time for the offering. These people who are so poor, and many of them raising orphans, took out of what they had and dropped their coins in the offering basket. I was completely humbled and challenged. That is real faith when so much has been stripped form you and you continue to praise and trust. The pastor then challenged the people to drink less sugar in their tea so they could use that money to help finish pouring the floor in the church, so that more people could come. I find we often embrace “things” in order to bring glory to ourselves. These people don’t put on heirs and try to impress others through their church building, or their clothing, their nails or their hair, their hearts have been freed from the chains of materialism. The glory truly is being given to God.

My paradigm has shifted and now I can only pray and ask God what I can possibly to do help provide and offer something to more of these orphans. We have SO much in America and I only become more aware of it as I am exposed to harsher conditions. I believe that we are blessed in order to be a blessing.

The whole weekend was success minus the part of walking in a crowd and getting my camera stolen. Three months of my pictures have disappeared as well as my camera so unfortunately I can’t send you and pictures of these places or people. I am just glad that they decided to only steal a camera and not hurt anyone.

Currently I will continue to raise awareness and funds to get the new dorm built in order to be able to take in eight more children by next spring. All of our children came from situations that I just described so I know we are making a difference. We’ve been busy making plans and we are excited to think that maybe by November we can break ground! October will bring the rains so we will purchase building supplies and get as much ready as possible so that when the rains blow away the workers can come in and start.

In the meantime I want to start a special fund so that I can travel back to Kisumu by Thanksgiving and deliver more food and clothing to those who live in desperate circumstances. If you would like to give out of your abundance as a sign of thanksgiving that you don’t have to go hungry, just earmark your check as “Thanksgiving” and I will use it especially for my new friends.

We still need funds to complete the dorm, buy baby beds, diapers, high chairs, wood stoves for heating, etc. Please pray with us and please help get others involved if at all possible! Car washes, bake sales, and boycotting Starbucks is always a way to help throw some change our way. 

This weekend we are celebrating Johnny’s birthday to mark his 1 yr. anniversary with us. I can’t even express the blessing it is to work with and for these kids. Thanks for being involved!

With love,
Jennifer, ITHM and IAA

IAA supporters, please continue to make your checks payable to IAA.

Support for the “Thanksgiving” fund and the dorm can be made to:
ITHM
23223 S. Warmstone Way
Katy, Texas 77494

Much love and appreciation!!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb