Start of my African safari


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
January 15th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jan 15
So my flight was fine. It was in an old airplane again but it was ontime and a smooth flight. But when I arrived I didn't not see anyone from the hostel. Long story short the guy at the airport booked me a room he claimed was somewhat near by. I wantted try and just stay at the boulevard where my meeting would be but he claimed they were booked. So I paid my room and my taxi ride to the hotel. Which is decent small and clean but not worth the money at all but the guy said it was safe there. I should have looked in my book and gone else where but I was trusting him for some reason. Anyway I showered rang home then took a nap. I then had breaky and walked to find hotel boulevard. It was pretty easy to find and I felt pretty safe walking around even though I was very nervous all day about it. But it was going well. It was very intresting being the minority. The only white person I saw around at all until I got to reaturnat area in town. I decided to walk around a bit and find the YMCA dad stayed at years ago. It was pretty nice they had rooms there too. Much cheaper I wish I stayed their. What ya gonna do. I walked back to town and tried to exchange some left of Egyptian pounds but wasn't having any luck. I found a coffe place and since dad said they have th best coffee here I decideed to go in. The coffee was very milky but I'm guessig it was just that place it was pretty posh place. I did have some awesome fruit bowl with some yogurt or some syrup it was delicious. I then was gonna hit the post office to send some left over post cards and on the way I had some guys start taking to me about obama and race in the USA. I had the same convo with anoher man eairlier and it felt like it was some what of a scam so I tried ignoring him. He did mention somthing about a fight ahead and shooting in the street. I didn't beleive him though, i thought he was trying to scare me. So I walked on. I did start to notice many people standing and looking in the smae direction then the next block there were tons of people looking. Then they all started running away so I joined suit. I was intense I think I heard some shots. Luckily I saw where I was and headed straight for my hotel went inside and lied down until my meeting. I was a bit nervous going out. I looked online apparently Muslims were rioting some jamacian that was arrested. The police were trying to subdue them with tear gass and some shots were fired apparently one is dead and a few injured. Anyway I made it to the hotel and awaited my meetig which went well. Our tour guide is a woman from nambibia. She's very nice and seems ontop of eveyrhing. She has been working for them for a year and our driver has been driving for around 21 years. So it should be pretty good. She gave a break down on the next 2 weeks and it sounds amazing. There are only 5 of us right now 2 Ozzie girls a Belgium couple and me. We pick up a three more in Uganda for a couple of days then. We lose the Belgium couple and probalby gain a few more when we come back to Nairobi. And it'll probally happen like that the entire way. But it should be sick. 
Anyway I tried getting a taxi back to my hotel and we had to turn around because they are still rioting he siad we could try and 9 pm. So I had to eat at the restaurant waiting to go to my hotel. Which I read is actually the bad part of town and the guys at the airport told me the hostel was in a bad part of town. I don't know where the good part of town is. Anyway 12 hours to survie till I get on the truck and we leave Nairobi.   

Advertisement



Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb