Nairobi .. visiting Benta and Julie Hope & Children Rescue Centre


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
December 10th 2012
Published: December 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Benta and the SchoolBenta and the SchoolBenta and the School

Julie Hope and Children Rescue Centre
Abstract: Rescue Centre is located in Kibera, the second biggest slum in Africa; Fighting against HIV/AIDS stigma & discrimination; bigger problem: paying the rent of the school and the house; I am fine.



Following the same idea of the last post, I need to write it in English. =)

Actually, my first ‘Job’ here in Nairobi-Kenya was to visit Benta Agola and her children rescue centre. However, as I met Dan (last post), I visited her later. The day I was there in Kibera I met Mary Carvalho, a volunteer that works for Kenya Youth Foundation. She is helping Benta to fundraise to buy a school and a house for her. I just felt very impressive with all the things that the school needs. However, the biggest issue Benta was facing that time was to pay the rent of her house and the school. Immediately I remembered the movie: “Eat, pray and love”, however, I knew that I didn’t have time to fundraise the necessary amount to buy a house or a school. So, I hope KYF can get this money.

This School takes care of 25 children that are affected/impacted by HIV/AIDS. Although this big
Donation from another SchoolDonation from another SchoolDonation from another School

yes, let's share what we have extra.
issue is part of Africa, people still suffer from the HIV/AIDS stigma and discrimination.

To help somehow this NGO, I decided to create a blog for them. The same idea I had for Overseers’ Education Centre: showing them to the world, asking for help, asking for more volunteer. Please see the blog: http://juliehopeandchildrenrescuecentre.wordpress.com/

Benta is facing today a very difficult situation: she needs to look for a new place to live with her family. Apr12, one lady "helped" to change to a new home. She moved from a USD 12/month rent to USD 160/month. However, Nov12, this lady stopped to send money. Now, Benta needs to go back the slum again. Here I need to add my comment. Why someone from abroad come here and moves a family to a “nicer” house and doesn’t give a sustainable solution to pay the new rent? Actually I can write here a lot about this attitude, but I will save you for reading it. Rs.

If you are interested to help her, please check: <a style="font-family: Verdana; font-size: 10.5pt;" href="

class="MsoNormal">And what I have done for her? I will write soon. Actually, I did with the help of my friends and friends of friends in Brazil. =)



I am fine!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

100 liters tank100 liters tank
100 liters tank

part of the donation from Brazil
Word's Aids DayWord's Aids Day
Word's Aids Day

meeting at Ministry of Health - Nairobi
there is still lovethere is still love
there is still love

even among poverty


Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb