Update :)


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 29th 2009
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everyone!

So it was pointed out to me that my last blog entry didn't quite all make it onto the website. So I guess I will just start from where it left off...

I was explaining that Mondays are used basically as a "drop" in day for anyone to come in and visit and talk with Kilonzi, Brittney and I. This Monday, Kilonzi organized a sort of business meeting. He had some of the ladies bring some jewelry that they make with them to the office to show Brittney and I. The idea is that we are hoping to be able to sell some of it back in Canada in the future. They make some really nice stuff! But the problem is, that nobody here has any money to buy any of it! So basically we looked at everything they make and tried to tell them what sorts of items would sell well in Canada...
Monday I wasn't feeling very good, so we spent Monday afternoon just lying around the house and napping and resting. We planned on going back to the office in the afternoon, but some serious rain stopped us from walking back up there.
Tuesday- we spent the day doing home visits. The first one was actually really tough. I cant remember his name, but he has been diagnosed with HIV and has been taken to the hospital and given medication, however he has basically lost all hope and stopped taking his medication. He is bed-ridden for the most part. It was hard to talk to him, and see him in so much pain. Very tough.
After that visit we walked to a couple other houses, but many of them weren't home. Kilonzi explained this is acutally quite a good sign, because it means they are feeling well enough to go out! Finally though, one woman was home. Freda, we met her last Monday. This visit went SO WELL! She was just so happy to see us! We sat with her and her husband Richard for quite a while actually. She immediatley brought out tea and a huge bowl of sandwiches (which were just butter and bread)...and since Brittney doesn't drink tea or like butter...I ate double! lol....she seemed insulted that it wasn't ALL getting eaten...so needless to say I was quite full leaving her house. She was really great though, she was so content just to sit there with us. She made us promise we would come back next week as well.
Wednesday morning was GREAT! Instead of the regular breakfast (tea and bread with jam), Maggie made pancakes...which were actually crepes...but they were SOOOO good!! A very nice surprise! We were told by Kilonzi we were going to spend the day helping with a "Community Mapping" program, and that's pretty much all we knew, so we had no idea what to expect. We walked with Kilonzi for about 45 minutes, and finally reached a church (where the meeting was being held). It was about 15 students from a community college and about 10 members of the community. They were working together to learn about the history of this area (known as Ngando) and then map it out (on the floor of the church using chalk) to look at the boarders, and the weak points of the community as well as the strong points. It was actually super boring for Brittney and I, because much of the Q&A was conducted in Swahili. Also...we really didn't have anything to contritube because we don't know the area very well at all. However, they seemed quite happy that we were there and taking some pictures.
After the meeting (from about 10 am till 2:00 pm....of just sitting....) they served lunch. It was a HUGE portion of food (Chipati, rice, veggies, beef, followed by a bowl of fruit) and Brittney and I couldn't come close to finishing our share...but it was pretty good anyways...
We got a drive back to the office after lunch and played with the kids for about an hour and a half. It was quite a long day! We got home at about 4:30 and the hydro was out all night and through until this morning. Which acutally really didn't change much other than we just read our books using flashlights.
Today (Thursday) we went back up to the school! It was really great. We brought a backpack full of toys and school supplies and gave them to the head mistress. She was really happy. I went back to my Class 6 and they seemed excited to see me. We taught English and Social again...but as the kids became comfortable with me again....all they wanted to learn about was Canada and learn how to speak French (most of which I have forgotten..) so I ended up teaching them a little bit of French and a little bit of Spanish. I brought with me a map of the world (that my momma gave me to bring) and we put it up in the classroom....they LOVED it! It made it much easier to teach them about Canada and other places.
We walked back to the office with about 10 of the kids from my class to meet Gladys and John from VICDA (our volunteer organization). It was nice to see them, and really nice of them to follow up with us!
We are going to meet again next Thursday, so they can give us our certificates for our volunteer work.
We are just at Junction (yet again) now updating blogs and sending e-mails.

I didn't upload any new pictures yet...but I will again in the near future!

Hakuna Matata Everyone!!
-Denise

Advertisement



29th October 2009

Untamed office
You indicated that you enjoy reading our comments. I thought as a public service (to you) I should keep you updated on our office adventures in the same manor as you are with your African adventures. Yesterday I got a paper cut on my left index finger. Mark swore 27 times... and Collins ... well ... he was just Collins. More to come...
29th October 2009

Feeling better?
Hi Hon So good to hear from you again. I hope you are feeling better. You sound so enthusiastic when you talk about the kids and teaching them stuff. What great experience!! Of course many Canadian children are not as eager to learn as the children you talk about. It sounds like you are getting some meals that appeal to you too...so that's good. You did the right thing to eat Freda's food. My understanding is that many other cultures are also insulted if you don't accept and finish what they offer you. My client from Turkey was the same way, and she was so generous with the servings. I used to come away from those visits just stuffed! All is well here. Grandma Wilker is coming for a visit this weekend since Dad is going to Guelph today for a meeting. I am having some tiring days working at H1N1 clinics back here. The turnouts have been crazy and this week is supposed to be only for high risk people. Anyway, keep writing and KEEP SAFE!! Love you forever, love you for always, as long as I'm living, my baby you'll be. (Did I get that right?- I even went and looked for the book but couldn't find it) lol Love Momma
30th October 2009

Hello from Canada eh!!!
Denise: thanks for letting me speak to Brittney today. It was nice to hear your voices. Sounds like the rain and food is getting you down. We too are experiencing "crappy" weather. Winter is fast approaching us. We turn the clocks back this weekend. It is halloween Saturday and the trick or treaters will be out in full force- forecast is calling for rain. Glad to hear some of your mom's advice is being put to good use! Mothers always know best- you know Denise! What out for the darn pick pocketers. Be careful! Look forward to more pictures. Your next week will go by quicky. Soon you will be on your next adventure. Take care and talk to you soon I hope. Joan
30th October 2009

MISS YOU!!!
Hey honey!! How are you? I feel soo out of the loop since I wasent able to connect with you when you were in the office before you left for your adventure!! How are you doing? Me and the kids miss you soo much.....Rielly asked if you could come over this weekend for his birthday....I had to break his heart by telling him you had "other" plans this weekend.. :( How much longer will you be volunterring? I cant wait to see all your pictures!! When you get back we MUST get together!!! Keep in touch....Im not sure if you are able to write me back but if you are...please send me a quick e-mail...I would love to hear from you!! Hugs honey... Tina
30th October 2009

Flu versus HIV
Hi Denise Great blog again. It's such a contrast to read about everyday life in Kenya compared to Ontario. All those living with HIV whereas overhere the big health issue is H1N1. (Health officials don't call it swine flu anymore - finally!) There is a bit of panic with people rushing to be vaccinated, spurred on due to the report of a 12 yr (?) boy who was playing hockey a week ago but died last Sunday due to H1N1. As terrible as that is, it's a much different magnitude of problem than the HIV epidemic and economic situation over there. Grandma Wilker is down for a visit this weekend, so we are updating her on your experience. Bye for now. Love Dad
30th October 2009

Must be a family thing...
Hey Denise, I was just told to check out your blog and I know youve probably heard this many times but I am very proud of you, what an amazing journey you're taking. This must be a once in a lifetime sort of thing and I am glad you didn't hesitate to do it. I think somtimes we have to drift far beyond our comfort zones to find out what type of people we are and you're deffinetly proving that. Looks like the bartenders at this years christmas will be absent, i'm sure they will manage, or not. The UK is great, as you probably know since you stopped on by. I think there must be somthing in the Culbert genes that just calls for us to go about and travel and try to do the good things in life. Although we are in different areas doing different things I truly believe that experience will reach further than any formal education. Good luck to you and all that youre doing. Im not sure how long you are gone for, i'll be home in January, so we'll catch up then if youre back. Take care of yourself, I love what youre doing and I think I may strive for it as well when I finish school. Good on ya champ! Much Love, Jay
3rd November 2009

Great Blog!!!
Hey Denise: I have just spent that last hour reading all of your entries....WOW I am in total awe and amazement!! You are dong some amazing work in Kenya I am so proud of you and this huge accomplishment!!! It must be so rewarding to work with the kids, you have had some crazy adventures already, the camera one sounded a bit scary!! We are still up to our shirt sleeves in the H1N1 pandemic, Taylor was off school for a week with the flu which she so graciously shared with me...hits you like a rock after 5 days I finally feel like I am getting some of my strength back. We sure will miss you and Jason at our family Christmas on Nov 14. we will toast to the both of you. Take care Denise, be safe and be well I am looking forward to reading your next entry Cheers love Aunt Sharron

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb