So much for being in a "low risk" malaria zone


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 24th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have officially become kenyan this weekend! On saturday morn'n a woke up with what I thought was just some aches from the cold and damp weather and by 12 o'clock noon I was so sick I decided to get tested for malaria! The results are in and I do in fact have malaria! Some of you know that I didnt take anti-malarial medication with me this time, the main reason being that the area I am in is considered low risk cause its near nairobi etc. Anyways, I have proven the travel doctor wrong on that!!! So the lesson learned this trip - ALWAYS TAKE ANTI-MALARIA meds!!!!! For those of you who are wondering what exactly malaria is...its a blood parasite transmitted by mosquitos. It results in flu like symptoms but 10 times worse. You feel so cold, even with 8 blankets you cant get warm, Then you sweating 10 mins later. Along with that every single joint is killing and of course there are the stomach problems that accompany flus!
But the good news is that with 2 days of treatment I am feeling much better although I can only eat the amount of food a 2 year old would eat!

Besides the horrible illness of the past few days, things have been going well!
The school is finally finished, now all that is being done are the finishing touches such as painting, planting plants and putting up a new sign!!!
I cant wait to post pictures! it doesnt even look close to what it use to look like!
I'm suppose to be going to mombasa tomorrow night for some fun in the sun! But it may be put on hold if I'm not 100% better! Theres nothing worse then spending 8 hrs on a bus when you are sick!
So I'm crossing my fingers that I'll be well enough to travel tomorrow night because I could really use a vaca after this horrible weekend!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb