Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 25th 2008
Published: January 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On my last full day in Nairobi I was just killing time & decided to go to the Railway Musuem. They have lots of vintage steam engines.

For 200 KSH ( about $2 )the guy flagged down one of the passing engines which was shunting the rolling stock & so i ended up driving a 80 ton (no shit) german Henshal diesel locomotive for about 2 km, then the points man changed the points & I reversed to hook up to 15 emtpy passenger coaches, & shunted them for about 1km to a siding.

The engineer said the next time I came I could ride in the engine all the way from Nairobi to Mombasa. It was a great way to finish off my month in Kenya, Tanzania & Zanzibar. I packed my stuff & had an early night. I made my 6.30 flight to Heathrow & the layover wait to Dublin was only 2 hours. That is the end of my little blog.
If you are in Nairobi check it out, ask for David the "art director" & you can drive one of those bad boys too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb