at the airport now


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

i got into nairobi like an hour or 2 ago. can't really leave the airport - the visas are $50 and you're not allowed to even smoke outside of the building... mom and danielle you'd be proud of me - i haven't injured anyone yet... (but i did get to smoke in the airport even though it's not allowed... not all ghetto style in the bathroom either). anyways... the longer i'm gone the more shitty stuff happens to all of my friends and i can't be there for them - i love you denise. so - back to talking about myself... the group left arusha, tanzania on the 16th. there were six of us that stayed and we crammed all of us into two rooms at the arusha ymca hostel. it was sad when everyone left - they were all suprisingly cool and awesome. in the morning everyone else left and i wasted time until catching my shuttle to the airport. that was all fine - very quick flight. oh yeah and the "snack" they provided was amazing... one cold hotdog in a big box. got into the airport in zanzibar. my hotel came and picked me up and whsked me away to uroa. located on the east coast (which someone later told me wasn't as nice as the west coast). it was pretty private, the nightly rate wasn't too bad but the food, drinks, and smokes were super expensive comparativly. i met some really nice people there. i just hung out and basically did by best to do nothing. i did that well - but i still feel a bit bad i didn't see more of zanzibar. i really want to go back - it's amazing. i meet some really awesome guys also... two of them actually were nice enough to give me gifts when i left -- they're both tour guides so if anyone's headed that way i can give you their numbers -- they were so sweet. i almost cried when i left - if that says anything about how much i enjoyed myself. so now i'm sitting in the nairobi airport with 12 hours until my flight leaves. i have no idea what exactly the exchange rate is -- and i'm super hungary (the tiny chicken sandwich that i oculdn't eat and the 3 small pieces of some sort of potato salad just didn't fill me up). i'm going to need another cigarette before i leave - - wish me luck about that. this airport is pretty big though - some airplanes you don't have to walk on the runway to get too - they have the walkway thing... i wish i knew what gate i was supposed to be at too -- but at least my bag is checked all the way through to accra, ghana. it's strange how quick the time in zanzibar went by for not actually doing anything... i was suprised. i'm running out of things to write... i will be trying to call people and hopefully my phone will magically work... i need to ask my wonderful parents if they will bring me a few more things when i meet them in a few more days in london. i just checked the weahter in accra and it looks like it's gonna be hot and rainy the entire time i'm there... ok i'm gonna stop blogging. i'm so tired and hungary - wish me luck on my long stay in the smoke free airport . . . ok much love to all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb