Faith, Hope, Love


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Side note: I failed to comment that Kenya is the 25th country I've been to. Also, that was my 25th blog. One of many coincidences.

So naturally putting down all my thoughts would be quite overwhelming, and, honestly, I don't know what I think myself. It's amazing, it's heartbreaking, it's numbing, etc...

The center we are working with is called Missions of Hope International (MOHI). I believe the main center started under 5 years ago with just about 50 kids in a K-5 school. Now over 2000 kids are in something like 5 different schools. Many of the new schools opened in different areas of the Mathari slum within the past year. The ministry is exploding and God is moving like a fire. In addition to the schools, MOHI also has programs for micro finance, HIV/AIDS counseling, and Community Health Evangelism (CHE...NOT the revolutionary). Our group is divided in those different areas and each one is doing amazing things to improve the lives of the people in the Mathari slums. Just read the last blog to see a bit of the need.

For the sake of brevity, I'll only talk a bit about the area I'm currently helping out in. I hope to volunteer in every department, but for now I'm in the clinic with the school nurse, Eunace. Everyday we treat kids from the main center in the Pangani section of the slum. We see everything from runny noses to infected wounds to ringworm to malarial symptoms to TB symptoms. In other words I'm getting great clinical experience and Eunace basically lets me play doc. The responsibility is huge as we treat symptomatically and I'm learning the value of preventative medicine. Certainly the most heartbreaking side of it is the fact that despite getting at least 2 full meals at the school most of the kids we see are malnourished. Most have intestinal worms (which I helped flush out with magic little pills). Their swollen bellies constantly remind me of the immense need. That said, MOHI is filling a great need and ministering to these people. More importantly, it is empowering the people. Everyone at the center is Kenyan except us and one missionary and many have come from the slums. That fact itself is very inspiring.

Today, Eunace and I traveled the to MOHI's boarding school which is out in the middle of nowhere to treat the kids there. Needless to say traveling thru rural Kenya reminded me of Umri. Medical missions is my calling. I feel that now more than ever. Love you all. Take care. You are in my prayers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb