Sweet dreams


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
December 10th 2000
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Now that we're back in Nairobi, it doesn't seem as daunting the second time. Except that when we got off the bus, Mike almost let himself get pissed off at a relentless, harassing taxi driver. My approach now? Say nothing and just look at them. Or turn and respond with, "Blah, blah, blah!" Not worth my energy anymore to get baited into a fight.


Leaving Arusha was tough but tougher still because I caught a cold which became full-blown by the time the bus ride was over. There was a memorable highlight at the border stop: I became most interesting, as my hair got the full attention of a young Maasai guy who spent a good amount of time touching it and examining how it works. I love Maasai areas. The people are so interested in us and really open. And of course there's always a bar around!


Last night's dream: Mike and I were back in Key West, my sister was visiting and the three of us were taking Swahili lessons in a park with African locals.


We said goodbye to Sandy but where will he turn up next?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb