Goodbye Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 8th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday night, we were back in Nairobi for our reservation at "Carnivore", voted one of the top 50 retaurants in the world. I'm sure many of you are wondering, "What on earth is Sharon doing in a restaurant called carnivore?" No, I've not suddenly become a raging meat eater, it is just one of those "must-do" things in Nairobi.

As you walk in, there is a a huge circular fire pit where all the meat is cooked. At each table, you have a flag. If it's up, it means "bring more meat", and when you put it down, it means "no more". I have to admit that I orderd the vegetarian option as I just couldn't see myself eating through $20 worth of flesh. However, I did try all of Scott's meat. To my surprise, the things I liked the most were the two exotic meats - crocodile meat and ostrich balls (balls of ostrich meat, that is!)

After the meal, we went to check out the nightlife nextdoor at the Simba Lounge. The place was huge, with numerous bars and dancefloors blaring out a variety of music, mostly western. By 10pm, the place was packed. After having zero nightlife in Nairobbery, it was fun to finally leave the compound after dark! (AND we didn't get robbed or stabbed - bonus!)

On Sunday, our last day, we visited he giraffe center, home to orphaned giraffes. We got to feed and stroke the giraffes, and some visitirs even got a giraffe kiss - we didn't rush to volunteer for that one!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb