Period.


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I worked on the chicken coop this morning. We have to patch all the small holes so the lizards don’t get in and eat the eggs. Sarah was helping me and had the great idea of putting leftover tin on the inside, rather than using wood. Soon, though, she was called upon to teach and left me alone. I got some work done.

There’s a huge spider in the coop that looks pretty amazing. Sort of looks like it has a Jamaican Voodoo face on its body. There was also a small spider-thing, but it looked like it only had 2 big legs and then just a ball, and it jumped!

I headed to the school to join them for lunch. After lunch, I hung out with the 8th graders who are studying for their exams, which start tomorrow. Sarah let me teach a little, and I was assigned the main players of the Old Testament. I told the stories of Joseph, Moses, Daniel, Jonah, David and Solomon, with a little bit given to Noah and some of the others. Honesty, I was impressed with how much I knew! Lots of it came from movies and songs, so I couldn’t remember which parts were 100% Biblical. The kids knew a whole ton too! It was fun teaching; I was running around the room and getting as many students involved as possible.

One of the teachers asked Sarah (who then asked me to join) to meet with the older girls for some “question time.” Wow. She wanted us to ask and answer questions about all sorts of things about being a woman. When are the times to worry about getting pregnant? What about if your mom doesn’t like your boyfriend? Some questions were easier to answer than others. There were a lot of cultural differences too, which made some harder to answer. The teachers asked some interesting questions too. I had to rack my brain for information from junior high and high school and especially my mom’s classes to answer some of the questions. We answered what we could. The young Canadians joined us too, which was good, but they are younger and more naïve, and had different points of view. It’s amazing how much you learn and grow between 18 and 21 and 25.

The one thing I didn’t like so much was they kept hitting the importance of not having sex before marriage. I know it’s important, but I also have a feeling that many of the girls in the room have done that, so pointing out that it’s wrong over and over wasn’t helping. But all in all, it was a good discussion.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb