Last Church


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
July 26th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to church this morning. Unfortunately it will be our last church service here in Africa, as next Sunday, we are traveling. We went to sort of the end of the English service, to hear the message, and the beginning of the Swahili service, for the worship. The pastor didn’t yell at all, which was nice, and there were hymns with the words printed in the bulletin for us. It was still long, though. It’s good to know that two weeks from today, I’ll be at home in my church with people I know and who don’t stare.

It rained a little before I was up, but after church its was pouring! When it rains here, it rains HARD. And straight down. Any building that is built with windows here has windows that don’t close. They’re more like vents. And some of them are missing. But the rain on the tin roof sounds cool.

The rain stopped just as quickly as it came.

Lunch was pasta. I have never been so happy to have pasta before! There was other stuff too, but I could have eaten plain pasta all day.

We were planning on going to the internet café, but it started raining. I waited out the rain by resting and ended up doing so for almost 4 hours! It was really nice just to be out for so long. I did some reading and then went to play with the kids.

When I was little, my dad would tickle me and ask, “who’s the best?” I would wait as long as I could before confessing, “Dad’s the best.” As soon as Tato was old enough to talk, I taught him the same thing. He quickly responds what I taught him verbatim, “ Jami’s the best, and don’t you ever forget it neither.” Tonight, I taught the same to the small boys here. Tim and Andrea were much more edgy, quickly changing their minds about who was the best and then getting tickled like crazy. At one point, big uncle/brother George picked them up and threatened to put them in the chest freezer. Lots of fun.

The bummer about days like this is that we sort of just go from meal to meal, with nothing in between. There’s no other agenda or things to be done, just waiting to eat again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.1mb