Bye Bye Accra


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
October 19th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a great 5 weeks in Accra, i really have enjoyed myself and i will miss it .
But I’m so glad that I choose two contrasting placements in different parts of Ghana.

I left for the Volta region on Friday Morning.
As soon as I arrived I could see major difference's it was quiet , not many car taxi’s but Motorbikes had replaced the traditional taxi’s of Accra . Oh my I really don’t how I’m going to get on the back of a motorbike. God help me. Lol

The orphanage I’m working is run by a pastor and his wife and there 7 children.

They are all so welcoming. There are 30 children in the orphanage aged between 3 and 17 . There is also a school in the day time that teaches about 600 local children.

I now have my own room, its nice to have my own space, even though I enjoyed sharing in Accra it’s nice to have me time.

Now that I have left Accra my showering and toilet facilities have changed dramatically lol. I now shower twice a day using a bucket , its so refreshing to wash outside , however I have become so paranoid that the little towel that I hang at the shower entrance , will drop and expose my bottom to the people of the Volta region lol .

The whole in the ground is my new toilet which I ‘m so scared to use pass 7pm .

So I have invested in a pee pan for my room , the old skool way lol
. Sorry for being so graphic but telling people about it Makes it easier for me to adjust to the changes .

I feel like I'm experiencing the real village life .


Advertisement



3rd November 2009

re
i am so glad dat u r enjoyin ur time out dare hope u hav a lot to share wid ur close friends and family wen u arrived bac

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb