snakes on my feet


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning i was walking up a hill, and i stopped to take a glimpse of the stunning view from the top. As i was standing there to my suprise a lovely snake slithered its jolly way over my foot. I dont think it was a cobra, even though there are an abundance of them here.. even so it was my adrenaline rush for the day!!

ive decided to write a little note on the food here today so you all can get a better idea of what thats all about. The staples here are rice, cocoa yam, and plantain. Cocoa yams are not orange but rather these huge white tuberous things akin to potatoes but much starchier.
These staples can be combined in various forms, and are generally fried or pounded to a glutenous mushiness. They are pounded using a very large wooden form of a mortar and pestle and combined with water to make the mushie paste. The paste- called fufu or Banku, is eaten with the fingers and is dippped in a sauce generally. The sauces all seem to have meat, which has drastically reduced my consumptin of them ( the sauces) to, well, zero. I have had each thing though with pure tomato paste and its also good.

My staples are a bit different than everyone elses for the basic fact that i dont eat meat. I do eat a lot of plantains and noodles without sauce. I also eat a lot of fried rice with Cabbage salad. There is a chinese place where i can get something like Pad thai, ( yess i know its Thai not Chinese, but thats what it tastes like) and ive made curry, and a few otehr dishes as well. Overall i feel my diet is quite good, and of course there is plenty of fruit around so im happy.

I will try to learn to make some of the traditional dishes so that i can share them with you when i return. they are really worth trying!



Advertisement



29th August 2009

Chinese Influences?
Hei MarMar, Does China have an obvious presence in Ghana? Today I heard that China is making contributions to many countries in Africa and also seeking to benefit from the many natural resources there. Do you see this? If so, what form does it take? Are there many Chinese students studying there? How did classes go this week? Have a great weekend! Love, Momba
29th August 2009

Food
Hi Marla. Your description of the food there is wonderful. I look forward to cooking with you when you get back. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb