laundry by hand


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have found myself adjusting to life here in ghana, and somewhat to my surprise i find that i revel in the daily tasks of living here. One of these which i find particularly enjoyable is washing laundry by hand. the pure work of it and the resulting wet clothes hanging on a line makes me think that people are raelly missing a lot by allowing technology to do everything for them. laundry is a bonding experience: people get together and sing and chat hang there clothes to dry on a line or the grass without the slightest concern that they will go missing. the dorms all have lines or drying racks and as a result a walk through campus is more like a very colorful walk near a circus.
ghana is changing my life, but the results are still not clear.

Advertisement



23rd August 2009

washing machine not so bad
Hi there MarMar, Well, even as you wash clothes by hand my machine is busy churning away and I am grateful for it :) Does this job fall only to the women? Mothers? In years past this would have been an enormous job for me to do for the whole family. We had a good time at Ryan and Kami's wedding. Biking today in perfect 70 F weather. Gardening this evening with beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, potatoes and onions in abundance! Hope you are eating well. Also, would love to see pictures of the dresses that you had made. email me soon! Love, Momba
23rd August 2009

jij
well its more of a job for everyone in fact. yesterday i met a few new people when i was doing mine. Men and children all help out with the washing, it really is a community thing. I will try to put up some more pictures of the Volta region and the thigns i have been doing lately. Miss you! xoxo

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb