Lake Volta


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 7th 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

21:17

Today was amazing!! I’ve booked a Boat trip for tomorrow just after lunch. Lake Volta, as I found out, is the largest reservoir by surface area in the world and it’s man-made! It’s completely all in Ghana and cost the country £70 million. It takes up over 3.6%!o(MISSING)f Ghana’s land and is 6 degrees of Latitude north to the Equator. I had a picnic next to the Lake and I saw loads of unusual people and Animals. Some people go around with humongous, heavy baskets on their heads selling Sachets of Water! I was quite surprised but apparently that’s normal. I can’t wait for my boat trip tomorrow. It’s really hot here…already I’ve gone through 1 bottle of sun-cream and I’ve only been here for 2 days. It was around 49 degrees at midday so we took shelter under the great big trees while bird watching. Monkeys were the only animals we saw today but I heard there are venomous snakes in the wild. I couldn’t sleep after that! The lodge is cosy but every time u sit down u have 2 check there’s not anything living under the table or chair! The lodge is right on the very edge of the Lake and I keep worrying about crocodiles but they’re in Egypt. I’m glad I decided not to visit the River Nile!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb