Day Fifty-Six; Wednesday, April 30 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
April 30th 2008
Published: May 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and headed off to Christ with lots of games in tow. I had a "Fun Day" with my class because it was my last day teaching. We played Jenga, made oragami paper boats which they LOVED, and colored. They are really starting to understand the fact that I'm leaving and Thursday will be my last day. Esinu and Rachel begged me not to leave again which was pretty crushing.

After we left placement I ran errands and got ready to go back to Christ to take the oldest and middle classes to the monkey sanctuary. While we were walking to Christ a man came up to me carrying an infant baby and stopped me. He told me that we should take his baby with us into the orphanage. I got really upset. Children here are treated so differently than those in the U.S. For the most part in Ghana babies are treated like only something that carries on the family lineage, not a source of joy.

When we got to Christ the kids were ecstatic and ready to go. We arrived at the Tafe Afome Monkey Sanctuary and they all jumped out of the van and were so excited. One thing I definitely didn't expect was kids to be afraid of the monkeys, which some definitely were. There were kids and monkeys running everywhere. They loved it. This was the first time any of the kids had ever seen a monkey in person. And to think that they only live 30 minutes away is crazy.

For dinner our whole group took the trek up a mountain to eat at Mountain Paradise Lodge as most of us finish the program this week. The best and probably freshest fried chicken I've ever had.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb