Day Fifty-Seven; Thursday, May 1 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
May 1st 2008
Published: May 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up really upset and not prepared for my last day at Christ. I brought all of the supplies I've accumulated to give to Christ to keep when I leave. When we got to Christ Raymond wasn't there which was really confusing. On last days of placement he usually throws a little "thank you" celebration for the volunteers. When Raymond did show up he held the goodbye ceremony. The kids sing this song about goodbyes and how if we never wee each other again the Lord will allow us to meet in heaven. It was SO SO SO sad. I cried a bunch.

We were presented out traditional cente cloths and given Christ Orphanage polo shirts. Saying the final goodbye was really hard. I started crying when I saw most of the kids in my oldest class crying. I told them all that I would miss them and be thinking about them all of the time. Saying goodbye to Linda was awful. I don't think she really knew what was going on but I was crying so she knew something was wrong.

After leaving Christ we visited Ahado Orphanage to watch them perform their Noahs' Ark all school play. All of the kids wore little masks and danced and sang.

On the way home from running errands around town I got into my last fight with a cab driver over prices. It's crazy how much the fare for a cab goes up when your skin is white.

We went to Malaysias at night for a final goodbye. Matt and I decided to throw a toga party and this time most people did participate which was a lot of fun. We got lots of weird stares but it was plenty worth it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb