Finally


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Guys

Hope your all well ?

I have finally found the time to sit down and write this blog. I arrived in Ghana on Thursday 10 th September.

Lets just say since i have got here i have barely sat down.

Accra is amazing , The first few days was a major culture shock . My first culture shock was seeing the rust bucket on wheels that was claiming to be a Taxi . taxi driving on getting me to my destination safely to command theI so have I'm wondering if cars in Africa need MOT lol .

I'm living with 8 amazing girls who have really just taken me under their wings and have been so kind to me .

Accra i cant believe the traffic in Ghana its mad , it takes me about an hour to get to work on the tro-tro (bus ), lol i'm starting to pick up a few Tre phrases . Every morning its a fight to get on the tro-tro.


I'm really excited as i planning to do a lot of travelling around Ghana over my weekends . Lasr weekend i went o Cape Coast which is a slavery fort. So quiet compared to Accra. I went on a canopy walk which was so scary walking above the trees

One of the thing that angers me about Ghana is the standard of Hotels . When your on a tight budget you want a decent hotel on a budget. Which is very hard to find in Ghana without spending loads of money . When travelling this weekend we spent one night only in a hotel in Elmina . i didn’t have high expectations , but i do expect to have enough light to see to get to my room lol


This weekend i'm planning to visit the Volta region , in a place called Ho-Hoe which is a quiet place with waterfalls and hikes in the mountain so should be fun .




SCHOOL

I 'm so attached to the kids already and its only my first week. There all so funny in their own way . They are hard work and do demand so much of your attention but I’m loving every second of it .

#The school consists of street kids who have had no formal education . In many ways its a big eye opener for me . We really do take education for granted in the UK.

I love the students eagerness to learn and their determination.

I have spent my first week observing my class , and assisting the permenant teacher Constance . (lovely lady who has been so helpful and kind to me) . I will start teaching Drama and English next week , i know the kids will be a handful they are so energetic . The boys in my group are so boisterous



The kids love having their picture taken and i will add some of the pictures of my class.
Asa volunteer in Ghana i feel that i’m experiencing the hidden side of Ghana that is possibly not seen by tourist. I have felt emotional a few times, Poverty is a horrible thing . It really does make me feel grateful for the things i do have.

There is so much to do in Ghana ,I’m loving the night life , (just not the annoying Ghanaian men that all tell you the same thing lol for a
I’m looking forward to travelling around Ghana and will try and update my blog as much as possible . There is probably so much i have missed out lol must go as i’m off out to OSo Ghana version of West End lol see you all soon .



Love from Ghana


Advertisement



26th September 2009

great blog entry
Hello Anita, I don't know you but I am an American, a Black American woman who has been wanting to go to Ghana for years. I read many travel blogs from visitors of Ghana and it is refreshing to finally see a Black woman writing and volunteering. I want to do the same. How do you like your program, and how much did you have to pay? I've been searching for a good volunteer program. Please if you have time continue to write, I am eager to learn of your experiences.
26th September 2009

IM MISSING YOU
I
8th October 2009

Thank you
Hi Shanique Thank you for reading my blog , its so hard to find the time to update my blog . I'm having such a great time volunteering in Ghana i'm working at aplace called the street academy , its a place for street kids . Its nice to volunteer with an organisation , however the cost involved sometimes makes you wounder if the money is coming back into Ghana . It upsets me that i have been in Ghana for a month and met many volunteers but i am the only Black volunteer amongst the hundreds of volunteers i have met. I 'm in Ghana with a company called IKando who have in many ways made me feel at home in Ghana. Honestly Volunteer in Ghana i'm having the time of my life it has been a big culture shock but i'm learning every day about myself and also the people of Ghana . GThank you for reading my blog . I hope you find yourself in Ghana pretty soon
8th October 2009

I miss u too , so wish you could come and visit , dont worry for our next holiday will be somewhere in Africa lol
8th October 2009

Love from Ghana
hello I love Ghana , its so much joke , i have better social life in Ghana then i did in London . It sad i really dont wana leave my school , the kids are amazing , yes they are a bit naughty at my school . However this is mainly because many are coming from unstable homes due to poverty but there all so s really feel likweet . As for the men in Ghana lol my ears are burning from the amount of rubbish i hav e been hearing , i have been proposed to , asked for my address in the uk , all sorts of rubbish the lis is too long to mention . I really feel like my life is about to change i'm learning so much about my. I'm thself and Ghana I'm thanking God for this experience because its so amazing . Cant wait to see you love from Ghana xxxxx
3rd November 2009

Thank u hun lol I heard that Darren is Heather's baby father what an earth is that all about lol When did they sleep together . Bare jokes Can't wait to see u I hope you are well . I'm home in 10 days so sad I'm already planning my next escape from cold london LOl

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb