Reggae Night


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had been feeling a bit overwhelmed yesterday. I went around campus for the first time by myself and it wasn't so good. I'm used to sticking out in certain places, but here, it is very apparent. Normally, I do not have a problem with it, but yesterday I was just so tired of all the looks that it really kind of upset me.
I need to give you some background information on how registration works here. The first couple days we were here we went around to just register for the university. We had to go to different departments and wait in lines to get the right paper work filled in and get our IDs ready. There is no online registration for classes, instead you walk around to each department you want to take a class in and register there. Most require passport size photos (which you can get done on campus). You can only register for one level of class. For example, I am a 400 level student, so if i wanted to take a course that was at the 300 level, I can't. There are also some restraints with the different departments. Since I am taking psychology, I
back of libraryback of libraryback of library

main library on campus
cannot take classes from two other departments that are listed in the group which psychology falls under (those happen to be economics and information studies- which does not affect me). Because of these restraints which I was unaware of prior to arriving, I have had to alter my schedule. They also do not offer every class which is listed in the handbook.
I went to register for my Psychology classes and it was hard to figure out where I needed to go to get the right paper. Once I got that squared away, I got the paper and filled out the info and had to attach my picture to it. I stapled it wrong- which the guy that was in charge of registration so bluntly pointed out to me- and for some reason, I wanted to cry. It is confusing to me how some departments don't care about stapling and others do. It was a simple thing that happened but I think it was just a mixture of everything that sent me over. I decided I was done registering for the day. I went back to my hostel. I knew that a bunch of us were planning to go to
road on campusroad on campusroad on campus

road towards the central part of campus
this thing called Reggae night at the beach. It happens every wed. night, so I had that to look forward to. We rode 2 tro-tros there. It costs 4 cedis to get in. It was a lot of fun. There was a live band and a ton of dancing. I met up with my friend Kwame and he danced with me... a lot better I might add. We all took a taxi back at the end of the night.
Today, I went to check out this dance class I'm thinking about taking. It looks pretty amazing, so I think i'll do it.
Still cant get pictures to upload. I've been trying. Maybe one day it'll happen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

ant hillant hill
ant hill

they are everywhere and massive
on campus, view to accraon campus, view to accra
on campus, view to accra

Too far away to capture the spactular view we have ontop of campus overlooking the city
campuscampus
campus

a little more of campus
outside of pysch deptoutside of pysch dept
outside of pysch dept

this is the outside of the psych dept building
lizardlizard
lizard

we found a lizard on our wall one night... i thought it was cool, until i found out that this is a regular occurrence... they are everywhere, mostly outside, occasionally in my room
my roommate, faith, and memy roommate, faith, and me
my roommate, faith, and me

I knew y'all wanted to see my face. We were getting ready to go to our welcome dinner in accra that ISEP was giving us.


21st August 2008

Interesting...
It's been great getting to hear about your adventures. It sounds like you are trying to make the most of this cultural change. It's amazing how little everything seems to cost. Sorry to hear that you've run into trouble with the registering. The 'real reason' you went abroad and your biggest headache. Oh well. I love reading and living vicariously through you.
22nd August 2008

it's amazing
Hi Vanessa, I'm happy to hear how well you're doing considering the cold showers and craziness in registering for classes. It cracks me up how much you love the food, and the drink. I love to hear about the new foods you've tried. Who'dda ever thought you'd be eating goat?!?! That's great. The world is an amazing place and its people even more fascinating. Glad you're experiencing both! Not sure why you think people are staring at you, but I think it's because they're not used to seeing such a beautiful american girl. Hugs to you. Michele
23rd August 2008

hang in
Hey - hang in there. I can only imagine how you are feeling. Isn't it amazing how sometimes you think you have all of your emotions in check and then boom - out of nowhere the tears just want to come.... I am one of those people - think I hold together well and when the last thing I want to do is get upset - yep here they come - tears! arghh! Anyway - you sound like you are doing great. It must be so confusing trying to get everything set up and in order, but it will come and then you will be able to relax about that part - and enjoy all the fun times. Think of me while you dance the night away - oh yeah, and if you take a dance class you know we will all be awaiting some demostration and dances (they don't have poles, do they :) ???!!!!) Keep us updated, love your stories, and you!
23rd August 2008

been there
Vanessa - I don't know if your mother told you but that was how we had to register for our classes when we were in college. We would go to the gym and stand in line for the classes we would want. Usually we made sure there was a stack of cards for the class so we did not have to stand in line only to have the class fill up. Somethimes you would return a card because you had to rearrange your schedule in case a class was full. I am jealous that all my kids did was press a button and that was it. Don't let things get you down. You have a right to feel frustrated and want to cry but all things come to pass as I know you are well aware. It must help just to vent a litltle on your blog. For now you moved back into my college time period - so all is not bad. i had a great college life. Love Lois
23rd August 2008

Class Registration
Hey, Hang in there. I totally understand how you can hold your emotions so well, then one straw is cut short and you want to just let yourself go. I'm that type of person. As far as the class registration goes, I had to do something similar to register at Pitt-Bradford. We would fill out our paper of what classes we wanted then had to stand in a never ending line and have a lady at a computer register us. Often, as my luck goes, by the time you got to the front of the line most of the good classes were gone. Throughout my whole college years, I never sat at a computer and registered for classes myself. So, hang in there, I'm right there with you. Love yah, Sara
25th August 2008

pictures
registration sounds like a nightmare.....love the pictures though! i want to see what your room looks like!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb