I Had The Time Of My Life


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,
I cannot believe that I am leaving Ghana tomorrow night. I've finished my exams and more and more people from my program are leaving everyday. My first housemate left on Thursday morning, my roommate left on Friday morning and all but four of us are leaving tonight. It is so difficult for me to say goodbye to all the close friends I've made and it will be hard to adjust to life without them. It will be sad not to have Brendan walking around shirtless, Lizzy experimenting with food in the kitchen, Suni and Pete bantering, Natalie asking advice for what she should eat, Megan preaching about everything that's wrong with the U.S., Jessie complaining about all the Ghanaian guys that want to marry her, and Stephanie doing her best Ghanaian impressions. But I'm slowly beginning to accept the fact that I have to leave.
I may have complained about Ghana from time to time, but really there are so many things about this country that I am going to miss. Tro Tro's have to be my number one. I will miss those sweaty, dirty, clunky old vehicles. Being packed in like sardines, striking up a great conversation with a perfect stranger, having children pretend to bump into you just so they can satisfy their curiosity by feeling your pale skin, and being able to buy anything you could possibly need right on the street through the window...yes, I will dearly miss tro tro's. Fanta in the glass bottles, walking around the university campus, and just the bright colors, sounds, and smells of Accra are definitely on my list too.
I was thinking a while back about how I haven't really made any close Ghanian friends. Being surrounded by oborunis all the time didn't really give me the chance to really get to know any Ghanaians besides classmates and acquaintances and that made me disappointed. However, on Thursday afternoon, one of my classmates called me and told me that he had a parcel for me that he wanted me to pick up at his dorm. As I ventured into the male dormitory, which was an adventure in itself, I had no clue what to expect. Other than seeing each other in class and talking a few times on the phone, Shadrack and I never really hung out. When his roommates gave me a blue bag, I peered inside to see a CD, a Ghanaian shirt, and a book with a note inside. Tears welled in my eyes as I read the note which described the CD he made me full of his favorite Ghanaian music, how he gave me his best shirt because he felt I deserved the best, and the book which was full of philosophic passages (which was what most of our conversations were about). He told me that I was a blessing in his life, that he was so fortunate to have met me, and that I always deserved the best no matter what. I just about sat down in the hall and sobbed at his kindness. For the first time in Ghana I felt a sense of home and belonging. So I went right home, and put together my own parcel. The next morning I left a bag with my favorite t-shirt, a friendship bracelet I made for him, and one of my favorite books with a note inside at the front desk of Shadrack's residence hall for him. Although I never did get to see him one last time to say goodbye, I hope my note made him realize how thankful I was for his kindness and how much his friendship meant to me.
Although I know it's time for me to go, it will be very hard for me to get on that plane tomorrow night and leave the vibrant country that was my home for the last four months. Ghana will always hold a special place in my heart and I wouldn't give up this experience for anything. I've grown so much and can see so many changes in myself since February. I've learned not to take things for granted and to appreciate the home I have in the U.S. I've pushed myself out of my comfort zone countless times and have learned just what I can and cannot handle. I've become more confident in myself in the ways of traveling, living on my own, and being able to handle responsibility (at least I think). I've become more tolerant of cultural differences and understanding and I think I've gained patience and flexibility, two things that have never come easily to me. Now when life throws me a curve-ball I just breath and go with it, instead of having a panic attack and eating a pound of chocolate like I used to do. And above all I've learned to slow down. In the U.S. I was getting so caught up with school that every class, paper, and exam was beginning to define me. I was always focused on my future and where I was going to end up. Being in Ghana has taught me to take things slower, live life from day to day and to focus on time here and now, instead of willing the days to pass by faster so I can get to the future. It seems that every Ghanaian song, every rainstorm, every power-outage, every card game with my housemates, and every memory I've made here has given me a new perspective on certain aspects of life, and I will truly cherish those memories forever (as corny as that sounds).
And so I say goodbye to Ghana...or rather just see you later, because I know that one day I will come back to eat some jollof rice and go dancing yet again.
Thank you so much to all of you that have been following me along on this adventure by reading my blog. All your messages and comments have meant so much to me and gave me more support during these last four months than you'll ever know. You all contributed just as much to my experience as anything else. I only hope that you may experience something as wonderful as I have in the days to come.

Advertisement



14th June 2008

Thank You!
Kelsey, Thank you so much for all of your wonderful blog entries from start to finish of your trip to Ghana. I am planning to study abroad there in August and your blogs have been amazing in helping me to have a better idea of what to expect. I don't know what I would have done without you and the other students there who blogged about their experiences. Thank you!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb