The nursery


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
September 14th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have my first project at the nursery. Theres this girl named Ruth who is one of the older students about 5 and is very behind everyone in the class. The rest of the kids even though they range from about 3-5 they are already recognizing and writing their alphabet and numbers atleast 1 - 10, they also can all recognize their names on their cups... Ruth can't recognize her name along with 2 other girls. Today our class was 19 kids, mostly girls, and a handful of boys. I still can't tell if she doesn't want to. They're so young and being introduced to this already. I feel that she can do it though, So atleast I'll try to get her to recognize her name atleast. I sat with her today for a good hour, and its almost like she has ADD its hard to keep her attention, then again shes only about 4, but her and a few others just need a little extra attention I think so they can pick it up, some are even younger and writing numbers up to 30! she knows the letters, but sometimes she doesn't, she has a very difficult time imitating drawing the letters if their drawn out for her, and keeping it constant. I've been trying to think of new games to make it easier, and I've made a dot to dot with solid letters above them, along with her name a bunch of times, maybe if I can atleast get her to recognize her name, i can go from there. But i still don't have any experience in teaching especially kids this young, the teachers themselves have very limited materials of course, and I only have what i've brought, some makers to help make a few of Saras examples a little more colorful and interesting, so i'm just trying to make due and think back to kindergarten and what would keep my attention if I was 4.

Jessica Carmen if you read this. . . I would love ANY games you can think of that captures the attention of 3 year olds. Haha.

I'm going to see the big market tomorrow in central Accra, I've really been only on the outskirts since I've got here, except when we went to the beach, but even then we drove around the middle of Accra. Hopefully I'll transfer my pictures to CD and send a copy home of ALL of the pictures I've taken so far. . . even my purply black eye thats slowly but surely looking better, but still looks like someone popped me good...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb