First Day in Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
May 21st 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well….today was my first day in Ghana. Got here at 7am Ghana time and have not stopped since. We stopped first at the dress shop to get dresses made for our stay and to bring home as souvenirs. It was really neat and “Mercy” the seamstress can make any dress in any style and fabric you want. We then went out to lunch and I tried a type of fufu (boiled cassava and plantains usually boiled and pounded into a white gooey mush that resembles the glue you used to eat in kindergarten) mine was a variant of fermented maize…yum! After you wash your hands in the bowl of water on the table, you pour the soup and meat over the fufu. You then cut a piece of fufu (with your right hand only) crater it in a shape to scoop up some of the soup to eat. I think putting my fingers in hot soup will be an acquired skill. Then we went to the Ghana cultural center…which is a type of open market. I also need to work on my bartering skills……buying anything there is exhausting….good night everyone…..by the way I did get a mobile adapter so if anyone wants to skype me, my screename is rachaelsk8...the internet connection is too slow to post pictures but I will try 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb