In Africa


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
May 8th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys, I have arrived safe and sound in Africa. I'm on my way to my ghanaian dancing and drumming lesson, so this will be brief, but a few highlights to think about...

-on my plane over they were deporting a prisoner from Amsterdam back to Ghana so he was handcuffed to the chair like 8 rows behind me and the flight was delayed because he was making a scene
-last night we went to "mentor", the ghanaian equivalent of Canadian Idol. We were special guests and so they made people give up their seats for us... of course we were also the group of the only caucasian people in the room. It was horribly awkward and peopel were speaking Twi all around us angrily.
-Kersten (our country coordinator) dislocated her knee on saturday night so she had it set and then I splinted it yesterday and she's getting x-rays right now, but it doesn't look too promising. She can't put any weight on it and we've been carrying her to and from cabs.

As expected, the people here are incredible, they come up to you and talk to you and offer you gifts to take with you to Canada and one guy just sat down beside me on the beach yesterday and pulled out his mancala game for us to play... really neat people.

It's also nearly 40 degrees during the day, and 30 at night, but I am still unsunburnt, (something that I am actually quite proud of). Also, hotmail doesn't seem to be working well, so if you've sent me a message, it might take me a while to read/reply to it.

I'm doing language and cultural training all week and on friday I am being transferred to my placement. After that, the internet is an hour away in Kumasi, so I'll be posting every few weeks.


Advertisement



8th May 2006

Yay!
Glad you made it there safely! Hopefully people from Ghana who participate in Mentor can sing better than the Canadians in Canadian Idol. ;) hahaha Too bad about Kersten. :( Good to hear you're already have a good time!
8th May 2006

Sounds like fun so far Linds. Keep us posted! Dan
8th May 2006

yay!
you're alive! I assume you heard that peter neglected to pass the msg along to the parentals. keep updating us. love you and miss you en francais Emily
9th May 2006

Lindsey, WOW! I'm so glad you're doing this blog thing so that I can keep up with all the neatness in your life. =) Keep having fun, and I guess if you're proud of it - er - stay sunburnt. lol. love.
9th May 2006

Awesome!!!!!!
Sounds like you're having a blast so far. Keep up the good work :)

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb