In Africa Part 2


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
May 9th 2006
Published: May 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I've found a better internet cafe today but hotmail is still slower than Molases in trois pistol 😊, so if people are interrested in I emailing me please use kettelkl@gmail.com.

I have found out that there is no international calling in offinso and no internet so I'll only be able to get online/use the phone every few weeks when I take a bus to Kumasi.

Anyways, Kersten's knee got worse so she's flying home to have it MRI'd and set properly. Ababio, the founder of Future Island School should be coming down today to spend a day with her before she goes and then we'll be leaving for Offinso on thursday by the sound of it.

I saw some pictures of Offinso and I am in love already, it's just a dusty street in the middle of a Ghanian jungle. However, I found out that the school does not have any kind of bathroom facility other than a room with a slanted floor where the kids go to the bathroom all day long and buckets of water get dumped at night, so I'm really hoping my stomach can handle a day without reprieve... for those of you who are interrested about three of the people here now have the runs, and we call Johnny our trackstar because that's all he seems to do.

I'm also working on plans to maybe go up north to the way north of the country (a 20 hour bus ride) to a national park to see hippos and rinos, and I'm going to do atleast one trip to Cape Coast (maybe 2 if I think mom should come when she's here for a week in July)

The mosquitoes here don't buzz... I know it sounds wierd but they don't make a sound! So I love that but I have been bitten about 10 times despite my best effort, and these ones swell way more than canadian mosquitoes so I'm working on applying deat in buckets to avoid too much more of that.

Anyways, I'll be back online in a few weeks, wish me luck with 40 kids in my class starting on monday!

Advertisement



9th May 2006

Those pesky mosquitoes always get ya eh? Make sure to take at least one picture of a hippo for me. Take care!
9th May 2006

Yahoo!!!
Hi Lyndsey! Nice to hear from you. I am currently in a mtg setting up fundraising ideas. Hard to believe that you are there! Kyra
9th May 2006

Rhinos and hippos are very exciting...i hope you do make that trip to see them. Good luck with your first class (not that you need it)! =)
9th May 2006

I certainly wish you the best Lindsay ... hope it proves to be everything you wanted, expected and more!
10th May 2006

!
good luck linds....hang in there! these updates are great! d

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb