Last Entry For Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
February 4th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So nearly at the end of my time in Ghana as my flight is on monday, and I've now left Kwamoso and am in Accra for my last weekend and to watch the rugby.
The last week has been a bit of a blur with a definate highlight being Tuesday night when everyone was at the bar for a last big night. This soon turned into a competition between the young local guys at the bar and the volunteers, luckily not in drinking Abudashe (local palm wine) but rather in armwrestles and in my case push ups and pulls ups against Benjamin (whose mum owns the bar). Having successfully seen him off in all three challenges he suggested a race, which i really should of rejected. But i didnt and was quickly demolished by the 17year old. So that was a good fun night that wont be replicated. Having said the majority of my goodbyes to the few people I'm going to miss and the many i dont really know me and Marc headed to Accra to meet up with Katja for thursday night. Saying goodbye to Ma and the Reverend was strange and I am going to miss parts of village life in Ghana (although not the bucket showers). Before I left the building was coming along really well and the walls are nearly finished, with the project due to be completely done by april.
Accra is definitately very different to Kwamoso and Im really glad that I wasnt placed here. Although its a big city and there are loads of volunteers it doesnt feel like the real ghana, as all the volunteers have electricity running water and a chef who cooks for each family. Not at all what we had but I think Kwamoso was more fun for it. One advantage though was that I have managed to find some Dairy milk and haribo although it was stupidly expensive but worth it. Me and Marc also made the slight error of not bringing a guide book to Accra and with Katja having left for Busua we know nothing about how to get around in the city. To make it more 'enjoyable' no taxi driver seems to know how to get to our hotel and we havent got a clue so last night getting back was fun to say the least as marc and the taxi driver nearly fought over whether he knew the way or not. But we got there in the end so alls well. Just got a few more days in Accra now that will probably be dominated by the rugby and one irish pub and american sports bar.
I have tried to upload some photos with no success but i think i'll have more success in Bangkok. I've started to look forward to Thailand a lot now and I'm counting down the days to my flight. Thats not to say that i havent enjoyed my time in Ghana as Ive had a great time and meet some pretty cool people (a german, a few dutch, a Scot, an american, and two aussies stand out). But thailand just seems more exciting and has more to explore. I have to say that I dont think i would have wanted to spend longer than a month here unlike all the other volunteers but thats just me I guess. Ghana's been good fun and Im really happy that ive done it and have something tangible to show for my month.
One country down 9 to go.

Advertisement



12th February 2011

Great
Well done, James, sounds very interesting, must have been quite satisfying building a house for those poor people, bravo!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb