Bad kebab...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Probably just a quick entry today as not feeling 100% and heading home to try and eat some dinner soon!

Lots of us volunteers went to a reggae beach party on Labadi beach on Wednesday night which was really cool, lots of cool people (and a few hasslers!) but good music and scenery. But I ate some of a spicy sausage kebab and was so ill yesterday, couldn't stop being sick and spent all day in bed and in the toilet! Luckily it flushed for the whole day, and is still flushing today. Still no shower though, but good news is that I've washed my hair now - twice! Bought my own bucket the other day which was nice and clean and have been scooping the bits out before I tip it on my hair. The cold apspect does not bother me at all, its nice and refreshing. Feel a bit guilty about the fact I haven't been to the orphanage today and yesterday, but it wouold not have been good running off to the toilet all day! Although I felt so ill yesterday and felt like it would never end, things have definitely been put in perspective. There are a couple of babies at the children's home with TB, and unfortunately they don't get any special attention because there's not enough local staff, and when I was sick and feeling sorry for myself yesterday I thought of those babies and how ill they must feel all day long, and distressed in the heat, with no parents to make them feel better. One of the babies with TB, Bernard fell asleep on me on tuesday, it was so sweet, and I held him most of the morning to try and make him feel a bit better.

I managed to get out of the house this afternoon now that the sickness has calmed down (although I still can't seem to eat much at all), and went for a walk with Aishu through town, bag shopping. I bought a gorgeous tan leather bag for 13 cedis (about 7 pounds - bargain!)

Gahhh internet just crashed and I lost a few paragraphs...have to dash now! will do it again soon! x x x x x

Advertisement



23rd June 2009

Hi Dorothy glad you have arrived safely and are enjoying your stay, it sounds amazing. I had a great holiday and visited Ephesus and Pamukale which was awesome. I am finding it hard to get back into the swing of things. The weather here is realy hot at the moment and forecast to get hotter 27 degrees on Friday. But then guess what-rain. I went to WW and lost 2.5 pound, how do you do that on holiday? I went again this week put 3 back on. Everyone at work says Hi- we all really miss you. Things are really busy at the moment and I am so tired-must be my age. Well I am ready for bed now so am signing off. take care and I look forward to reading your next update Denise
24th June 2009

Hi denise!
Glad you had a good holiday and got to see Ephesus! What did you think of Cleopatra's pool at Pammukale? Its never nice going back to work after a good holiday! I think i'll get reverse culture shock when I come back home lol. The weather sounds the same as here, although a little hotter here, but it has been raining a bit too! Congrats on losing that after being on holiday! And its only half on overall. I haven't even been thinking about calories here lol. Missing you all too! Tell everyone I said hi from Ghana! x x x

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb