Bad kebab...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra » Korle Bu
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Probably just a quick entry today as not feeling 100% and heading home to try and eat some dinner soon!

Lots of us volunteers went to a reggae beach party on Labadi beach on Wednesday night which was really cool, lots of cool people (and a few hasslers!) but good music and scenery. But I ate some of a spicy sausage kebab and was so ill yesterday, couldn't stop being sick and spent all day in bed and in the toilet! Luckily it flushed for the whole day, and is still flushing today. Still no shower though, but good news is that I've washed my hair now - twice! Bought my own bucket the other day which was nice and clean and have been scooping the bits out before I tip it on my hair. The cold apspect does not bother me at all, its nice and refreshing. Feel a bit guilty about the fact I haven't been to the orphanage today and yesterday, but it wouold not have been good running off to the toilet all day! Although I felt so ill yesterday and felt like it would never end, things have definitely been put in perspective. There are a couple of babies at the children's home with TB, and unfortunately they don't get any special attention because there's not enough local staff, and when I was sick and feeling sorry for myself yesterday I thought of those babies and how ill they must feel all day long, and distressed in the heat, with no parents to make them feel better. One of the babies with TB, Bernard fell asleep on me on tuesday, it was so sweet, and I held him most of the morning to try and make him feel a bit better.

I managed to get out of the house this afternoon now that the sickness has calmed down (although I still can't seem to eat much at all), and went for a walk with Aishu through town, bag shopping. Bought a gorgeous tan leather bag from a street stall for 13 cedis, (about 7 pounds, bargain!). Also got hassled a lot today, some people are fine, others are relentless. Some accept when you say no and say thanks, have a nice day etc, but some don't stop, a guy tried to give me a necklace that I didn't want, and said it was for free, but I tried giving it back to him because i've heard this is a trick, and he wouldn't accept it back from me and said I could buy him some food in return, so I gave it back to his friend because he had been hassling me for about 20 minutes whilst waiting for a man to make me bracelet, and then he follwed us into a supermarket and started saying that I had stolen his bracelet!! Luckily a security guard (QS Group 4 Securicor nonetheless, maybe Abi should get a transfer!) made him go out, but about 10 mins later he re-appeared in the cafe, but someone made him go out again! I think its the only supermarket here, but its so expensive, it sells western-style foods, but a punnet of grapes was bout 5 pounds! Nappies are even more expensive than I thought, a packet of 5 Pampers was 43 cedis (20quid!!) No wonder the children's home use towel nappies!

Have to shoot off now, will try and get some more photos up soon (there are only 2 on facebook, its so slow to upload)...Still loving Ghana even though i've been ill!!

Ciao for now....x x x x x x

Advertisement



20th June 2009

emotional
Dozzeee ur my hero please keep cuddling bernard and shall i send nappies along with Alexa's clothes??
22nd June 2009

Hey nic!
I cuddles Bernard lots again today, he was a very hungry baby today so I gave him lots! Anbd nappies would be amazing...!!xxxxx

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb