Ghana Blog 2018 Week 1


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 20th 2018
Published: June 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1

Me after having my braids done.

Ghana Blog 2018 Week 1



The first day of Ghana has finally arrived and let me tell you how much I have missed this beautiful country. Waking up at the Labadi Beach Hotel was amazing, as its kind of made me actually realised where I actually am, because before this morning it hadn't hit me that I was actually in Ghana.

That morning I spent relaxing at the pool, but that was really hard, as I'm not really a relaxing person, where as my dad is defiantly a relaxing person, to be honest he was asleep the majority of the morning, but who could blame him he has been real busy lately. When lunch finally came round I had the most delicious pasta dish whilst watching the rugby, I honestly didn't know that Ghana actually has rugby. Suddenly, Prince (the boss) texted me saying that Michael is no longer meeting/ picking me and my dad up it is now Kwame and Prince, from that message I became very nervous, I wasn't ready to reunite with Kwame yet, as I have missed him so much, I wasn't sure what his reaction would be when we meet for the first time
Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1

Photo shoot with one of my students
again.

Finally, the time finally came even though Prince and Kwame were nearly an hour late (T.I.A) I got the message from Kwame saying that they have arrived my heart was beating so fast I don't know why? Prince gave me such an amazing welcome a big Ghanaian hug, I love hugs! Kwame smiled and laughed and gave me a hug, but Kwame looked so different, but in a good way. That taxi journey to the volunteer house was full of different conversations; dad and Prince were talking and their then was me and Kwame talking, about anything and everything that has happened in our lives over the pass year.

Once, we finally made it to the volunteer house Michael and Justice were all their ready to greet me with big smiles and of course the Ghanaian hand shake. Once I had dropped all my stuff in my room we all made our way to play pool in which were Prince, my dad and everyone played apart form me and Kwame who just sat and chatted the whole time. Honestly, I don't think you realise how much you have missed someone until you have been apart for nearly a year and have the whole dictionary of words to talk about. That evening my dad went back to the hotel in which meant me and the volunteer staff to go out and get a take away yum! I think I can honestly say we talked about Ebony for an hour, as me and Justice are big fans, Justice even says that Ebony was his wife awww. When I finally made it back to the volunteer house it was just me and Kwame and their me and Kwame joked around and Kwame even showed me his crazy Ghanaian dance moves. But, sadly time had come for Kwame to go back to his sisters house, but I cant complain I'll see him tomorrow.

A brand new day, brand new week has finally came, and a new age as today is my 17th birthday! My first and defiantly not my last birthday in Ghana. When I saw everyone (VMG staff) their was the words of happy birthday coming from every direction from everyone it was amazing that everyone has remembered that its my birthday. So, that very morning me and Michael spent it by watching America and Britain's Got Talent, it
Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1

Kwame's Friends Wedding
was so funny.

Later, in the morning Prince, Michael and David took me back to the school that I taught last year for my introduction. In where all the teachers were so happy to see me especially the girls students they all came running towards me and gave me hugs, that's defiantly the best birthday present ever! Once, I finished being re-introduced to the school we all went back home in which their I helped Doreen (the new volunteer cook) to prepare the evening meal. Doreen taught me how to make soup and Jollof rice, where as Justice taught me how to prepare plantain and yam, let me tell you cutting yam is so hard, I still haven't mastered it yet. Later, in that evening I was able to watch Doreen preparing fufu, by pondering plantain and yam together. Kwame finally arrived and I spent time talking to him which was nice. So, later that evening when everyone has finally turned up and all the food has finally been cooked we all sat down to enjoy a very delicious birthday meal in which Prince and Kwame said prayers and speeches, but defiantly Kwame's was the best it was so cute. Honestly, I couldn't have asked for a better birthday!

Tuesday, has finally arrived! Which means its the first proper day back at the school in which I was slightly nervous, because in order to teach you need a lot of confidence. Prince said if tomorrow I could go to school on my own and of course I said yes, I need to prove to everyone that I can travel and do things on my own. Once, I got to the school the new headmaster wrote me a timetable in when he would like me to teach. So, straight away I was placed with class 4 in which I taught them about mental and physical disabilities, in which they knew nothing about which was great!

Later, in the day when I had finished with school the taxi driver came to collect me and my dad from school and take us back to the volunteer house, in which their my dad and I restored my suitcase before we all went out to play pool. When we arrived at pool there was a betting competition in which me and my dad was betting that Justice would win, whereas the others
Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1

Donating Books To The School
were betting that Prince would win. But, of course pool doesn't interest me, so I decided to go on a walk , which was great.as I love exploring on my own in different countries. Once, I arrived back at the pool place the game was already over and indeed Justice had won! So, back in the taxi I go taking my dad back to the airport, in which sitting in the taxi with 2 big men isn't the most comfortable, but I cant complain its only for 1 part of the journey after all.

Moving onto Wednesday, this will be my actual first day of going to school on my own in a trotro, I was excited, but of course nervous at the same time. So, off I went to start my morning journey I got into the taxi and it was a bit worrying, because as soon as I got in the taxi the whole sky went black and indeed a storm was about to happen. Once I got onto the trotro it just chucked down with rain in which now I was scared, as I had no coat or umbrella. Whilst walking to the school I bumped
Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1Ghana Vlog 2018 Week 1

School With The Italian Man
into one of the teachers, she laughed at me and offered to walk with me to school under her umbrella.

Altogether, that day of teaching was one of my favourites, because class 6 and class 5 were amazing, they all worked hard and engaged in the lesson. Many girls in class 6 loved playing with my hair whereas, the rest of the class were dancing to Shatta Wale, I love the way the Ghanaians dance. After, I had done all my lessons for that day I was invited to watch class 5 who were learning a dance routine it was so good, as it is true Africans have very good timing when it comes to music and dancing. Unfortunately, one of the staff from the volunteer house came to collect me, for once I didn't want to go home.

Once, I got back to the volunteer house Doreen braded my hair for me in which took the whole afternoon and evening, but everything was ok once Kwame arrived back from work, because we just debated about Ghana Human Rights, every time Kwame comes back from work it literally makes my day! Once, Kwame had left to go home
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

The outfit Doreen gave to me as a birthday present.
me and Doreen were left talking about why we hate Donald Trump so much. Doreen couldn't finish doing my hair, as it got so late, so for the rest of the evening I spent it video talking with Jack, I don't know why but I have missed this guy.

Now Thursday has arrived and once again I was late for school, because Doreen wanted to finish doing my hair, So, off I went again to go to school and in the taxi, I think the driver had figured out that I was a massive Ebony fan, because all the way to first junction I was singing all of Ebony's songs. Once, I have finished with my journey in the taxi I was walking to school and I came across a Nigerian guy we talked for only a small bit, but I hope to see him again. I almost forgot before I got into the taxi a car stopped in front of me and the guy offered to give me a ride and intelligently I declined.

As, soon as I got to the school I was put into class 6 in which was good, as I do like teaching
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Me and Kwame at my favourite beach
that class. As, soon as I had finished teaching them they taught me a hand clapping game which was quite difficult, but I got the hang with it at the end. But, Junior kindly got me some lunch in which was Waakye in which its one of my favourite meals. When having lunch one of my students decided for us to have a massive photo shoot in which we went through every snap chat filter. All the children love going on my phone they actually help me out on my games. After I had my lunch I decided to go to one of the classrooms to talk to the children, I went to see Junior High 1, these children in this class have so much energy; doing backflips, skipping and dancing, Ghanaians just love to dance and its so amazing to watch and learn from the children. The girls asked me to tell them a story about WW2 and, so there I went on telling them all my Nans stories.

Later, that day once I got home the world cup lightened up my day, as I watched Russia defeating Saudi Arabia 5-0. Doreen kindly again asked if I wanted
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Me inside one of the fishing boats
to help her with cooking and once again I said yes, however I wasn't a fan of the dish, but its ok as I want to learn how to cook.

So, the next day is Friday I had no school, as it is a Muslim holiday, however that doesn't mean I stop working, as today we have an Italian guy coming to stay with us for a day in which means it was my job to make sure he enjoys his stay. So, of we went (me, Italian guy, Michael, prince and David) went off to show the project guy some of the projects, so the first project we showed him is a private school in which was based on a fishing place in Teshie, in which once we finished at the school we walked down to the fishing boats in which somehow I managed to get myself into one of the boats, but when getting out of the boat it wasn't easy, because David had to somehow lift me out of it. The next destination we stopped at was our first orphanage in which we had to drive 1hr and 40mins to get their. So, once we arrived
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Me at the fishing place in Teshie
we had to walk what felt like a hike to the orphanage in which all the girl students looked so beautiful in their dresses. After, we finished at the orphanage we took the long journey to our next destination in which me and the Italian guy just slept all the way through it. So, once we managed to get back to Accra we went to the sports project and then the other orphanage programme.

Once, we finally finished with all the projects we reached home in which the Italian guy suggested for us to go out for a run, so off we went burning our less part of our energy. All the children loved watching us, they were cheering us on and some even tried to run with us. I couldn't believe I ran 1km, I wouldn't have achieved it if it wasn't for the Italian guy, as he kept me company and kept encouraging me to keep going. After dinner the Italian guy wanted to go on a walk, so whilst me and the Italian guy was walking, he told me a story about his Irish friend who moved to Kenya and had adopted 3 girls children, which
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Me and my model student
in a way is something I want to do, but in Ghana of course. To be honest I'm not ready for the Italian guy to go home, as I have built a good friendship with him, hopefully I can build a good friendships with the other volunteers too!

Saturday, has arrived and today is going to be a very busy day, because today I'm spending the whole day with Kwame! So, when Kwame arrived to collect me we went to his job for him to introduce me to everyone in which was amazing, as everyone he works with they are all so kind. Next stop of my day with Kwame was we went to see his cousion in which I was so happy to see him again, as he was another person that I have missed so much! After spending time with his cousin me and Kwame went to another bank so that I could change some of my money in which after that we finally went to my favourite beach in which brought back so many memories. At the beach me and Kwame talked non stop till sunset, it was so good it just felt like last year
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Games day Friday with the students
when me and Kwame use to go to the beach everyday after school. Once, it got too dark me and Kwame went to his sisters house in which their Kwame cooked us a noodles meal in which tasted so good! And all the children that live in the area came and spoke to us and to say hi and welcome me back, which was so cute.

Once, I got back to the volunteer house Kwame helped me to plan my outfit for Sunday, as I'm going to Kwame's friends wedding! I'm so excited, but nervous, as I have never been to a African wedding before!

So, Sunday has finally arrived in which means it's Church day. However, today I'm not going to any Church service I'm going to my very own first African wedding. So, that morning I made sure that I'm looking so good, however it was raining so, I wasn't sure if we would still be going.

Once, I got to the wedding it was so beautiful with lots of gospel music. The whole wedding service is so different compared to the weddings we have in the UK. Once, the wedding service had finished it
Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1Ghana Blog Week 1

Me and Flora (Prince's daughter)
then ran into a normal Church service. The whole service lasted for 3 hours. Then everyone moved to the hotel in where everyone got refreshments and that's where there was dancing, and of course Kwame is one of the first ones up on the dance floor. At the wedding I got to meet nearly all of Kwame's family i.e. cousin, sister, uncle etc... However, as it rained in the morning the whole tents roof was filled with water, in which meant somebody has to get all the water down and get really wet, it was so funny to watch.

After, the wedding I went back to Matilda's house in where me and Kwame had food, it felt like last year, where I would eat at Matilda's pretty much everyday. Me and Kwame had an arm wrestle in which none of us can win, as we both have the same arm strength.

Once, I got back to the volunteer house I was greeted with such a big surprise; the Italian guy came back for the night, I was so shocked and so happy to see him again! On the other hand, there was some sad news, as Michael's dad sadly passed away.

Altogether, week 1 of my Ghana trip has been filled with so amazing memories and I cant wait for week 2!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb