Kakum, Queen Mother, & Elmina Castle


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow! So much has happened in the last two days!

Yesterday we went to Kakum National Park and did the canopy walkway = these bridges made out of rope and wood that are suspended hundreds of feet above the jungle floor. It was such an incredible, unforgettable experience. Then we met the Nana-hemaa, Queenmother, from the Efutu village. She is such an amazing woman - very well put together, wise, kind, funny, everything! And she is totally the mother type - the mother to the whole community! She said that when she is driving around if she sees a young lady with a skirt too tight she will make her driver pull over and yell at the lady! How funny right?!

Today we went to Elmina Castle, which was sadder than I thought. It is the biggest former slave trading post, I hate the word "castle" for such a horrendous place. When we were first arriving I thought that I would be fine and experience it as a historian or something - I can't really explain. I guess I thought that emotionally I would be able to view it from a distance. I was very wrong. I couldn't hold back my tears, especially when we went into the infamous "Room of No Return." This trip is definitely forcing me to think seriously about my history, our world's history. That was only a few hours ago, so I still feel like I need to process it in my mind. Sigh.

As you can probably tell already, I am having a great experience. I am not only really enjoying myself, but I am also learning so much. So, I don't want to stay on the internet for too long, but I figured I might as well make another post since I was by an internet cafe and since I have done so much in the past few days!

Thanks for the messages and keep them coming 😊 I miss you all - keep praying for me!

Advertisement



8th September 2006

all i can say is wow. i'm really impressed with your life kelli ann newman. you've always been my inspiration!
8th September 2006

miss you
Kelli sounds like you are having a great time!! Thanks for coming us posted.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb