"It's like we're in Africa!"


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
September 6th 2006
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sooooo I am HERE!! It is ridiculous - I still feel like the full gravity of the fact that I am in Ghana has not yet hit me. So quick run through of what I have been up to: arrived in Accra on Friday night (it is dark outside by 6:30 pm each night) and made it through customs easily to be greeted by Aunty Nana, our academic director. Then we went to a hostel in Accra for food and introductions and sleep. The very next morning we loaded up on a bus (about 16 of us) and drove the 3 hours to Cape Coast, our home away from home. The first few nights in Cape Coast we stayed at Jacaranda Guest House which was... interesting. My roomie (Jocelyn from Carleton) and I picked out what we thought was going to be the best room - first floor, spacious, etc, only to realize that we were terribly wrong (funny in retrospect) So the electricity did not work, the beds and pillows were made of something similar to umm wood, the toilet not only did not flush but smelled like what we could only imagine hell might smell like, and we could hear and see every car driving up through our window- bad feng shui lol. So after roughing it one night we basically moved in with Alexis on the second floor and shared a twin bed - needless to say we have grown very close. Besides the lack of comfort, though, I have had an amazing experience. I got a little homesick yesterday, more angry than sad, because the directors really weren't making much of an effort to allow us to get to the internet of a phone to contact our families. Then we did an "urban dropoff"experience in which the dropped groups of 3 off in the town and we had to find certain items and locations and make it back to a central meeting place by noon. It was fun and made me realize how incredibly nice Ghanaians are. One woman sent her son to show us the way and he was our guide for about an hour, not expecting anything in return. After that we went to Brenu beach resort to swim which was indescribable - the beach was amazing and the ocean was so much fun because the waves were ridiculous- like everyone would knock you at least 3 feet back, but usually about 20 feet back = hilarious. Like, you would be knocked over by a wave and it would be funny so you would laugh but then another wave would knock you over and you would still be lauighing so you would almost drown - hmm, doesnt seem as funny in writing. hahaha. But yeah, then we had lunch and went back to the guest house. The next day, Tuesday, we met our homestay family with whom we will be living with whenever we are in Cape Coast. Mine consists of an older woman, Aunty Hetty, and a 16 year old girl, Anakofor, and a 10 year old girl, Georgina. I get my own room and lots of independence I think. They already gave me my own key to the house and to my room and were like "Ok, have fun, see you later!" I made fried plaintains for dinner last night!

So yeah, besides the pangs of homesickness and lack of running water/toilets/electricity this trip has been awesome already. I miss everyone so much though. I will try to make phone calls tonight, but it isn't easy which I already realized. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE write to me as often as you can:
Kelli Newman
PO Box UC50
University of Cape Coast
Cape Coast, Ghana

Meda ase (thank you!) I love you all dearly and miss you! I will keep you updated as often as possible 😊 Keep me in your prayers and write!!

Advertisement



6th September 2006

love you
that sounds like soooo much fun kel! i'm glad you love it. what an experience!!! i'd say take it all in, but i know you're already doing that my beautiful amazing other half!
6th September 2006

Miss you.
Kelbar it was great to hear from you on the phone and to read about your adventure. Especially since I live through you (now if I could only get you to run as a R for Prez that would be cool). Sharing you news with others (will make Grace take it to school for show and tell). Sorry that Emma lives so far away. Glad to know that all is well. Gotta run, received your voters registration with your address here in Duncanville (hint, hint especially since every vote counts and I am not taking any chances). Love you the most (unless Melmel is reading this then I love you just as much) Your Favorite.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb