updates


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

hello everyone! so sorry that i have not updated in a while. i just got back from a week in komenda, the "rural village" component of the semester. first off - komenda was not nearly as rural as i expected - more like the suburbs 😉 i lived in a house (with electricity, but no running water) right on the beach which was awesome. there was sand right outside our door and you could hear the waves from the ocean through the window. i stayed with fiona (univ. of redlands) and jackie (umass amherst) which was so much fun. we seriously talked about every possible subject you could imagine (EVERYTHING lol) and i can basically recite their life stories, as they can mine. komenda was definitely more like a little vacation than school (as though all of this semester is even "school" - not!) the entire group went to a little bar one night which was so much fun - a lot of (bad) dancing and singing along to the american music. as far as work goes i did do a little research report on education in the rural areas which was really interesting. i got my first taste of what the independent study project will be like since we made our own schedules and had to make our own contacts pretty much.
i got bad news in komenda - my grandfather passed away. it is really sad being here in ghana and knowing that i cannot comfort my family or be comforted by them, but i know that my grandpa would want me to stay here and make the most out of my experience which is exactly what i am doing. but just keep my family, especially my grandmother, in your prayers! all of the kids here on the program with me have been amazing through this. the first day they were there to talk when i needed, to sit there and let me cry when i needed, and to leave me alone when i needed to be left alone. and they brought me cookies!
being here has made me think a lot about life in general, and my grandpa's passing has just reinforced the lessons on life i have learned here - to enjoy every moment of it and to work for the glory of God so that when you do leave the earth you will have no regrets.
that is all for this entry - keep in touch!

Advertisement



7th October 2006

Ghana
Kelli, I am so glad that you made it Ghana safely, I was talking to one of my friends the other day who is in Ghana as well. He's from NC too. My condolences to you and your family during your loss. You are in my prayers. I was excited to read what you said about LIFE and doing our part in GOD's plan. I too believe that we have to enjoy life to the fullest and know that we have a job to do throughout this life. It will be hard and sometimes we will fall down, but we have to get right back up and start over...Glory Be To God!!! I am so glad that you are meeting new people and having great experiences...I can't wait to read more... Peace, Beats and Lyrics, ERIN

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb