Is It Possible?


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

No doubt, you are asking the same question; Is It Possible that tomorrow is really June 1st?!

Time is passing. Looking at the date, I feel the crunch of time for the students that graduate from primary school in July (most of our 6th grade graduates are above 14yrs old). There’s still so much to do to prepare them for life outside of their protected village environment. Now so little time to do it in.

I am so very encouraged concerning the students in the past 5 months. The added teachers (though part time) have been a tremendous help! The days they are with us a heap of pressure is lifted off of me, classes are quiet and moving forward in their education. Life is good.

In 1989 left my job at the University of Michigan because I wanted to “make a difference in someone’s life”. I’ve spent the past 17yrs living, working, existing and mixing with the lives of those God placed in West Africa. I’ve spent many hours, days, even weeks caring for the wounded, sick, dieing and educating multitudes on nutrition, hygiene and HIV/AIDS. But who has really been educated here? More likely Me then any of those I’ve touched. This morning I found this poem in a little booklet I’ve had for years. It sums up how I feel about my life today;

I’m Learning How:
Every day I’m learning how to walk a straighter mile. I’ve even found a way to greet a sadness with a smile. I have discovered inner strength, I knew not I possessed. A quiet peace that flutters like a dove within my breast.
I’ve learned what is reality and what is make-believe. And that it isn’t smart to wear one’s heart upon one’s sleeve. I’ve learned to be more tolerant, with others and myself. And that one cannot truly give… until one gives himself.
I’m learning to appreciate the days that hurry by. To be content and know that there are none so rich as I. I’ve found my true vocation. What I was meant to do … and when life mocks, to smile and say … “I’m merely passing through!" By Grace E. Easley.

Hmm? That “tolerance” thing is still a problem and I’m not convinced that being a primary school teacher is “my true vocation”. I compare teaching these kids to working (the seemingly unglamorous job of a nurse’s aid) at the Veterans Home in North Dakota a few years back. I would care for and clean up ANY mess these men made; whole heartedly and without hesitation. I loved those men. I can’t say that I ever had a “hero” during the course of life … until I met them. Without question; Those WWII vets. Are My Heroes! It was an honor to take care of them. I would not be so eager to do the same work in a nursing home. But for these men, I would do anything.

I feel somewhat the same about my life today as a primary school teacher. I am totally un-interested in teaching as a career or a profession in another school. But I do LOVE seeing and being a part of the increase in the lives of these specific students. I am posessive and protective of them and I gladly give my all for them every week. Life isn’t always so easy for us. It’s far from perfect. I/we face a variety of struggles here. But I can say, “Life is rich. At the same time I hold it loosely with my eyes fixed on a greater day in eternity”. If you are reading this, you are most likely a part of my “richness and wealth”. I’m grateful to be so rich.

Have a Great Week!
Christine and Co Thought for the Day:
If God had a refrigerator, your picture would be on it. If He had a wallet, your photo would be in it. He sends you flowers every spring.
He sends you a sunrise every morning. Face it friend - He is crazy about you!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb