Jimma and Weliso....


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia
February 21st 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 8.53333, 38.1

On the way home to my shweetie!!! 😊 That's how I'm starting to feel. Being away from Carole this long was too long.

My reason for visiting Jimma was.....it's the home of coffee!!! Coffee maybe helped save my life? I used to be a heavy smoker, and a non coffee drinker. The morning after I quit smoking 20 plus years ago I started to drink coffee. It was a good substitution. I've never lapsed.

The city of Jimma, formerly named Kaffa, (coffee) is surrounded by fertile hills and is where coffee was first cultivated. There is an interesting story here, the details I will add when I get home.

Jimma is pretty layed back, not much of a hassle factor here. To some extent, the more an Ethiopian city is a tourist destination, the higher degree of people wanting to be your guide, etc.
Jimma is not a tourist destination. They are proud of their coffee history, they even have a statue of a coffee pot in the center of town.

I visited the town of Weliso on my way back to Addis. It did not require any extra bus travel, just an extra day, which I have. There is a nice lodge here, set in a wooded and garden atmosphere. The lodging consists of rooms designed as tokuls. There was lots of birds and monkeys on the grounds.
The monkeys seem to enjoy being fed by an employee of the lodge, even though they have a sign, "No feeding the Monkeys" But close by is a 'tree bar'. so I'm guessing this is good for business.

I'm in Addis now, ready to be home!! I have less then a week and will do one more trip, but it's only an hour from Addis. My buttocks have had enough of Ethiopian buses whose suspensions and seats wore out many years ago! I think all of the bus travel was good......I can't imagine traveling this much in a country to be visited in the future where it could be more challenging.....or am I just having an episode of wishful thinking?




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



3rd December 2011

it is real nice pleas

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb