All in a day’s work!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In preparation for my role in the Cluster Coordinating Unit at Robe next year, the College have purchased the transportation for the Unit. I knew that getting use of a car to visit schools may be difficult so suggested (initially as a joke) that the College should buy horses. Much to my surprise they arrived yesterday!

I went for my first ride this afternoon! Bashiir, one of the guards at the College very kindly came to teach me the basics - how to fit the saddle, how to tie the rope around the horse’s head to act as a bridle, how to get the horse to move faster (“Chi”) and stop (Shhhh!) and how to tie the rope to his leg at the end of the ride. I had such a great time.

I have, after consultation with some Ethiopian colleagues, named the red horse “Daamaa”. I wanted to call the white horse “Bakakaa” which means Lightening as every time I try to approach him he moves away very quickly - but my colleagues laughed and said it was not a good name for a horse, so instead he is named “Daallee”. This morning, before work, I went to try and catch the horses as a practice for this afternoon, and failed, but Daamaa is getting used to me and is now easier to catch. Luckily, the white horse follows him. I have decided that I should ride Daamaa and the White One can be Kedir’s problem!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb