The horses arrive!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Oromia Region » Robe
June 14th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Initially as a joke, I had suggested to the College and to VSO, that the College should provide transportation for me next year - in the form of horses. I argued that it would be difficult to ensure that one of the College vehicles would be available whenever I wanted to visit local schools (in my role as Cluster Coordinator providing training and support) but that it would also be more environmentally friendly. To my surprise people took me seriously and the idea was planted.

Today, after lunch, Kedir who is my counterpart Cluster Coordinator next year, came to my office to inform me that the horses had been purchased and were in the College grounds. Sure enough, there they were! One white (grey?) and one red. They are a bit on the scrawny side, but I am sure that College grass and the barley I will buy at the market next week will soon fatten them up. The plan is to have a trial ride tomorrow afternoon, in the College, before heading out to the lanes around Robe next week.




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 77; dbt: 0.2264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb