Visa Extension... and a Pick Pocket Attempt!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
January 13th 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.02274, 38.7468

This is my first entry for our travel blog. I'll attempt to maintain the same lofty standards as Carole.

I've moved base camp from the luxurious Hilton to the pretty basic Itegue Taitu Hotel in the Piazza
District. What the hotel lacks is more then compensated for in being located in the older main district of Addis Ababa....lots of shops, activity...feels vibrant!

The Ethiopian government has changed the rules for tourist visas, a 90 day version is no longer available upon entry to the country. But today I have the visa extension in hand the, after a 3 day effort. Yesterday was my 'interview' process, conducted by 4 different government officials. Apparently I must have said something funny to the first person, and she noted, in Amharic, what I had said. Each official then added their own humorous comment, so by the time I paid the $20 for the extension, the last official was announcing to the entire office everyone's comments.
No one was willing to explain this to me, but it was a lot of fun.
I'm guessing it has something to do with my demeanor. Most all the westerners become increasingly frustrated with the very inefficent and bureacratic process. It's just better to go with the flow.

Later in the morning, I had a bit of excitment Walking down Churchill Ave., a man 'bumped' into me by 'accident'. "Excuse me, sir" was followed by the sensation of a second person putting his hand in my pocket from the other side. In a split second I realized....PICKPOCKET!!
I must have had my 'soldier' face on, (earlier in the trip, an Ethiopian commented I looked like a soldier), because as I turned to face my pickpocketer, fear was written on his face. Without thinking, I brushed his hand aside, grabbed him by the shoulders, and 'placed' him on the ground.
Happened so quickly, and this man is saying to me "so sorry, so sorry" . I'm thinking, yea right.
They both scampered away, and a few on lookers gave me a nod of approval.

Tomorrow, via bus, I will head 100 KM west of Addis to visit the town of Ambo and the Mount Wenchi area which includes a crater lake. Then I'll return to Addis to experience the Timkat Festival.



Advertisement



13th January 2010

Some experinces on this travel - now a pickpocket! Guess appearing as asoldier is helpful. I'm glad you are keeping up the blog. Reading aboutyour travels keeps me updated plus all you are experiencing is so veryinteresting and informati
ve. Stay well. Love, MomWill be sending you more news on your other email.
13th January 2010

Well, from this entry, I see you will have no problem keeping up with me:)LOVE, C:)
13th January 2010

Great blog entry, Rich - keep 'em coming. Glad you still have your wallet. You are probably a local legend by now!
14th January 2010

i'm glad there's a "to be continued..."I am so enjoying the episodes.Here's to more adventures.
16th January 2010

Cool! Our very own Vin Diesel!
16th January 2010

Hi Richard! I am glad you could manage to stop your pick pocketer and placed him on the ground. I believe you are very smart, logical and strong. In any situation you could make it with success and funny. That is nice story to hear. I have
learnt quite a lot about Ethiopia from reading your travel blog. I like to read more. I would also very much like to wish you have a nice stay in Ethiopia and enjoy visiting to some other towns of Ethiopia. Hope to hear from you soon. Poan from Siem Reap Angkor, Cambodia.
16th January 2010

Sou-Sdei Richard! This is me Thida. Today I have Vatana as my translator. Hope you are doing great and enjoying your visit there in Ethiopia. I have heard about pick pocket, ... Fortunately, you have well done organized everything. I am gla
d about this. How about the food? Have you found nice American food there? Do you like Ethiopian food as well? Hope thing is OK with you and that you enjoy your stay in Ethiopia. Have a good weekend! See you soon. Or-Kun! Thida
16th January 2010

Dear Richard and Carole, This is me, Neat. I am Poan's daughter. I like to see so very nice photo of you uploaded recently playing drum. I am glad you do so well organized with everything. Hope you enjoyed so much playing drum as well as ha
ving enjoyed seeing things in Ethiopia. That would be great experiences adventure. I like to play drums too. Hope to see you soon. With all the best from me, Neat in Siem Reap Angkor.
23rd April 2011

I am a recently hired expat captain for Ethiopian Airlines. From U.S.My friend from Argentina and I walked down Bole Ave. and a young man turned and accidently spat on my friends pants. Another young man came up to me pointing at my shoes
, speaking Amharic. The first man brushed my friends pants with a tissue. We later realized he had his wallet picked.

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb