Carole's final entry


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
January 11th 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.02274, 38.7468

It is hard to believe we are back in Addis and I leave tonight to return home. I will be home Tuesday evening!!!
I will continue to work on the blog once I get back. I will download photos and add more details on hotels, modes of travel and costs etc in case anyone out there is looking for specific travel info.
The blog is far from complete. Richard's journey continues for another six weeks. He will travel to areas south and east of Addis and many of his destinations require long hours of travel by road and will take him to some very different cultural experiences from Omo Valley tribes to the muslim city of Harer. It will be fantastic I am sure.

Yesterday we visited the fabulous ethnological museum here. It is housed on the campus of The University of Addis Ababa in what was formerly the official palace of Emperor Haile Selassie, the last reigning Emperor of Ethiopia. The museum itself is very well done and the building is fantastic. Part of the exhibit includes the bedrooms of the Emperor and Empress and their private bathrooms. In all the castles and palaces I have visited around the world, I don't recall any of them having the bathrooms on display but perhaps because these rooms are in perfect condition makes it possible. All the modern amenities - western toilet, commode, twin sinks, huge bathtub with shower etc. The fixtures were 20th century porcelain - likely imported from Italy.

Today, my last day in Addis, is an errand day but if anything interesting comes up I will be sure to add it when I get home.

I am looking forward to catching up with everyone in some way, shape or form once I am back. This was an amazing trip with many different experiences and it ranks high on my list of adventures.

Love to all,

Carole😊

Advertisement



13th January 2010

Hi Richard and Hi Carole! Finally it is time for Carole to be back home earlier after having traveled to many big towns of Ethiopia in almost a month trip. I would like to wish you have a good flight home. Also, I hope Richard would enjoy v
isiting more areas to the south and some other towns of Ethiopia. However, as Carole be back earlier for work, Richard has to adjust and organize things by Richard himself. I believe you would be find and enjoyed to see more things there.Hope Richard would get his Ethiopia visa soon in one or two days and that the tour will be begun. I would also very much like to wish Richard have a nice visit to the rest areas of Ethiopia and find better internet connection. Have a nice day and enjoys! Hope to hear from you soon. Love, Poan from Angkor, Cambodia

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb