Obervations


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
February 20th 2010
Published: February 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thank you for all the comments and questions . I enjoy hearing from you . Although without a name I'm not sure who is commenting.

Cairo is a city of 22 Million and some said that there are over 5 million cars ...nearly all of them showing signs of road injuries of some kind . the traffic is insane .Most of the roads seem to have 3 lanes but one is used for parking ( sometimes 2 cars in 1 1/2 spaces ) and then another 3 cars (Total 5 lanes now) all trying to make their way through the same intersections or roundabouts at the same time...it's NUTS. A few times I have laughed out loud at the audacity of my drivers...they are really good .There are traffic police at some roundabouts but when you are trying to coordinated traffic coming in 5 or 6 directions it is difficult. Oh Yeh ,streets do not run parrallel .

I have taken a fair number of cabs and am amazed that we manage to get anywhere . They know how to do it . Shilly (not Shiny as I refered to him before ) or Radwa write out the location I am heading to in Arabaic and tell me how much it should cost and off I go . The cab drivers have Some English as do many of the people in the service industries and if they don't they ask someone walking by or in the car beside us. I have been impressed with the hospitality of the Egyptian people. Yes the touts can be annoying but they will back off and they don't touch or pull on you . For some reason Canada gets a response of Canada Dry...I must find out about the advertising blitz that created that response. They are LOUD thugh . I don't know if that is Egyptian ,yuth or just male voices ,but people talk loud.

Someone asked about pyramids .I think I heard there are 139 . The Pharoic period lasted for centuries and they took death and life after death VERY seriusly.

I enjoyed Cairo . On the morning of the 18th before I joined the tour group I walked around in the downtown side streets ,avoiding heavy traffic , and watching the people getting on with their lives. It is a city covered in sand dust that is ALWAYS present in the air , on the buildings ,on the cars ... everywhere. There is also smog fom the vehicles ( but many of them do run on natual gas which is cleaner ). It looks dirty , although it is not litter... A fascinating place.

Yesterday Iwent to Giza and the 7th wonder of the world . I must say the highlight was the Camel ride to the plateau and the view there of the 9 pyramids (3 large ,6 small ).quite impessive with the city of Cairo in the background and 1000's of people milling about.

The group I am travelling with feels good. 9 in all ,3 couples and 3 singles . I am probably the 3 or 4th oldest. 4 Canadians , 3 US flksand to Scottish folks in there mid 60,s. A good group.

Lastnight we took the overnight train heret Aswan . It was pleasant being rocked to sleep and time to slow down a little after Cairo . Tomorrow Abu Sambal...

Hope all is well. Keep in touch














Advertisement



20th February 2010

Memories
Your travel commentary brings back wonderful memories for me of my time in Egypt. Thanks for including me in your list of contacts. I hope you are in awe, as was I, of the wonders of this place as you are drawn back in time and walk the roads of an ancient people.
20th February 2010

Hi, enjoying your trip reviews. Cairo ,camel ride and pyramids sound awesome.Travel safely. Nettie
20th February 2010

On your way
The train ride sounds good. Sounds like you even had a berth, not just sitting in your seat. The sway can be very lulling. The busy-ness of Cairo doesn't sound like I would like to see it. But I am sure it was interesting to see. The camel ride sounds - different! You didn't say much about it. Just about the view. Have an enjoyable time with your travelmates. I'm sure you will have lots to share with them. Keep enjoying.
20th February 2010

Thanks Pam
Look you! Only one week out andyou have all ready given yur friends the gift of 'armchair/computerchair travel'. Dlighted to be included in your communications. Thaks. Went to he RCMP musum yestrday...a beautiful faclity but there was no one there. I scofed at a number of the exhibits especially th training of oly 6 months...which led me to muse about a number of the claims that are made by all exhibits ie did the Virgin mary really live and die in Turkey?l Guess it is a ittle lat for me to travel with questioing...erk another lost opportunity. Stuck to the games and to the TV...yuk. Today is a fine day to walk my dog and o think abut your travels. Have fun. Will take the boys tomass tomorrow at your church and will say one for you. Blessings Wendy
20th February 2010

I am glad that your group is cohesive - it will give you a good feel about being on "tour". Take care!
20th February 2010

Fun, fun, fun!!!
It all sounds spectacular and we enjoy reading about your adventures. Miss you! Tim, Krista and Liam
21st February 2010

good travelling
keep up the travel adventures they are fascinating.
21st February 2010

Sounds like a fun time. I had to laugh at the fact that you rode on a camel; although, I'm not really surprised. Keep sending the updates and have a wonderful time. Lynn
23rd February 2010

Hi
Wow! I like your wrighting. I feel I am there.I was reading last night on the sand every where in Cairo, it seems wright. I am starting my list today, leaving in 2 weeks. Getting my plane ticket today. Going fast. Does the traffik feel a bit like Hanoï except no motorbikes most cars? I am happy that the caïrote are welcomming, that is good. I am reading Lawrence Durrell, "Le quatuor d'Alexandie" quite a reading. It seems like a good group and 9 people is fine. 60's are good travelers it should be fun. Have fun in Abou Simbel, Suzanne.
24th February 2010

Yes Suzanne the street crossing is like in Hanoi...you'll do fine. Good luck with your packing you atr going to appreciate these monoliths. They are truly awesome.

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb