See the pyramids along the Nile la-la-la-la-


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
February 17th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I saw them...they're huge...I tried to climb down into the burial chamber but I just couldn't do it...the claustrophobia struck after the first 20 steps bent over ,going down backwards ,losing sight of the square of light above and thinking of all the tonnes of rock ...YIKES!

They are quite magnificent though ... because they are in a desert area they aren't charming as Palanque was or soul touching as MountALban was ,They are just BIG and marvels of engineering. I went to Saqqura which has quite an extensive Funerary Complex as well as several burial sites . One Mausaleum was exquisite with carvings of daily life and activity .I was impressed with the artistry . I also went to Dashur where there are 3 pyramids .One destroyed ,one called Bent because they had to change the angle about 1/2 up as it was to steep...and finally the red Pyramid which is considered the 1st REAL pyramid . I climbed up 135 steep stairs to begin the 69 meter climb down into the antichambers...and then climbed back down...my thighs are a little sore today. Oh well , I haven't found a CURVES yet.

On Friday am I will be going to Giza the most famous of the Pyramids.

Today I slept in until 10am. My body is adjusting to the time change fairly well but with the tour starting tomorrow I thought it best to be rested . I spent all afternoon in The Egyptian Museum and was truly impressed with all that I saw. I will have another go there on Friday pm.

Tonight I went and saw the Sufi Dancers performance .Wow! .This was a show group unlike the Dervishes that I saw in Istanboul who were a spiritual group . It was great! Most of the photos are a blur of motion but that might not be bad.

Tomorrow I leave The Arabesque and join the tour . I'll write when I can .

Hope all is well.

Advertisement



18th February 2010

Good luck with your "TOUR"! I'm looking forward to your feedback on it after it's over!!
18th February 2010

cairo
We went to the pyramids in Cairo from the airport when we first arrived early in the morning. The memory that stays with me is driving through the city and seeing the pyramids, just over there, on the other side of those buildings. They are so much a part of the city. I loved Cairo...and Aswan most of all. Enjoy!
18th February 2010

Egypt
Sounds beautiful Pam. Enjoy the great sights and foods of Egypt. Krista and I just watched Cairo Time. The images, sounds and foods of Cairo brought me back to Beirut. We miss you! and can't wait to hear about all your adventures.
18th February 2010

Sounds like a ton of work-those pyramids
Am enjoying your comments on your travels and am marvelling over the fact that you have time to write and that you write so well! Give us more when you have time but rest when you get the chance. Here I am, at home, advising you to rest. What do I know? Take care, Pam. Joanne
19th February 2010

Welcome
Welcome to Egypt. How tempting, I wish I was there all ready.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb