Alexandria, Pyramids at Giza, and Luxor, Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Nubian Dancers at the school in Alexandria 106 secs
LuxorLuxorLuxor

Cool ancient Egyptian dude.
The best times I had in Egypt were in Luxor. The people there were so kind and much different than the Egyptians in Alexandria and Cairo. The people's lives depend on tourism, and of course there were annoying touts, but they were humorous and quite good at telling jokes in English. Some of the touts didn't like it when I spoke Arabic to them because they want to all tourists to be ignorant foreigners who don't know any better. However, when I was bargaining and told touts that I lived in Alexandria (which I did) they loved it, they spoke Arabic with me, and gave me good deals!

When I was riding the camel at the pyramids I could see the pyramids and desert to my right, and the slums of Cairo with chickens and goats running around on people's roofs to the left. However, when I put the slums behind me and block out the sounds of roosters crowing, the pyramids were the most magical, mysterious place I've ever been to.

Time travel to the past is possible; stand next to the Nile, close your eyes, and listen to the waves on the shore and it's possible to
Whole lotta somethingWhole lotta somethingWhole lotta something

It looks like a whole lotta desert, but believe me there's a whole lotta stuff to see in Luxor.
go back 2,000 years.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

TransportationTransportation
Transportation

Ancient and modern form of transportation. Hey is it legal to park there?
Having a litte funHaving a litte fun
Having a litte fun

The Egyptians were totally amused by the head scarf ensemble. Hey, when in Egypt have a litte fun. It kept the sun off my head, too!
Some Anubis ActionSome Anubis Action
Some Anubis Action

Anubis became my favorite Egyptian god. Don't know why, he just seems pretty cool, ya know extracting organs of the dead and putting them into canopic jars and stuff.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sun setting in Luxor.
Fiery SunsetFiery Sunset
Fiery Sunset

Fiery sunet over the Nile and the Valley of the Kings.
BowabBowab
Bowab

This is the "Doorman" or bowab who guarded the front door of the apartment building. He didn't really guard it (obviously) he just carried bags for people.
Children in AswanChildren in Aswan
Children in Aswan

This is the bedroom for the women and children. I walked into this room and about 12 people poked their heads out from under their blankets. They were in beds and on the floor, too.
Refuge in the desertRefuge in the desert
Refuge in the desert

This is a house.
McDonald's Arabic StyleMcDonald's Arabic Style
McDonald's Arabic Style

This is a girl who worked at McDonald's
Higab BarbieHigab Barbie
Higab Barbie

Talk about being culturally specific!
MosesMoses
Moses

Isn't he handsome?!
Alexander the GreatAlexander the Great
Alexander the Great

Statue of Alexander the Great outside the library in Alexandria.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb