Guilin and Yangshuo


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cancer MachineCancer MachineCancer Machine

The reason why Fuli and the surrounding area is so polluted. These rotary engines were on 95% of the vehicles on the road emmitting enormous amounts of smoke. Whatever happened to mountain fresh air?!
My trip to Guilin and Yangshuo proved to be just the vacation I needed. I flew to Guilin from Wuxi and stayed in the Guilin Riverside Hotel. The room was HUGE but the bathroom was like a Cracker Jack box and the water was only luke warm. Guilin was an 'alright' Chinese city with a night market and the Li River running through it, but Yangshuo was the better of the two cities. Yangshuo is much smaller, but somehow it had much more air pollution than Guilin. My friend and I rented bikes in Yangshuo and rode to Moonhill and the Banyan tree one day and then to a town called Fuli and...I forget the name of the other town...Xing Ping(?). I just remember it was like 27 km one way. Fuli was a hell hole with only a few thousand people, but I swear they were all going to die of cancer within a few years. I've never in my life been in a city where every breath of air was just rotten black smoke. I literally felt like I needed a lung detox after riding through Fuli. Luckily after leaving Fuli, the air cleared and it was easier to
Tour de YangshuoTour de YangshuoTour de Yangshuo

Once I got off the main road I realized that bike riding around the area surrounding Yangshuo was the best way to go. Here I'm taking a rest next to a field of sugar cane.
ride the long distance to the next town.

Yangshuo turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip and we stayed there for 4 days. There were romantic narrow cobblestoned streets with restaurants and shops and some of the restaurants served western breakfast any time. We didn't get hassled too much by touts, except for the women running after us shouting "bamboo, bamboo!" They couldn't say 'bamboo raft' so it sounded like they just wanted us to buy bamboo!

I like the character of Yangshuo and it was a good trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Yangshuo Yangshuo
Yangshuo

Cool little market street in Yangshuo. Good for buying lots of junk that I didn't need!
Roof top diningRoof top dining
Roof top dining

Just chillin' on a rooftop overlooking the market street and the town.
New form of fishing?New form of fishing?
New form of fishing?

Not sure if this man was fishing for his sock or too afraid to touch it!
Cool dude!Cool dude!
Cool dude!

This guy was just too cool to not get a picture of.
Another holidayAnother holiday
Another holiday

This was my birthday dinner. How sad that it actually resembles Christmas dinner!
True CharmTrue Charm
True Charm

This is the Yangshuo that I remember best.
HardcoreHardcore
Hardcore

Damn those little old ladies are strong!
Asian FlareAsian Flare
Asian Flare

This is what I always pictured China to look like.
Local Flav-uhLocal Flav-uh
Local Flav-uh

Dancing bamboo rat anyone?
Legit?Legit?
Legit?

No, this isn't a knock off at all!


9th February 2009

ha,ha,a good trip
guilin is beautiful,but my hometown is better where not so far away fron it.
19th October 2009

Guilin and Yangshuo trip
Where is your hometown?

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb